April 2017 Wrap-Up

gAnother month has come and gone, and BIG surprise. I only read three books. One was a physical book and one was an audiobook. To be fair, the audiobook was very long. Alright? Don’t judge me. I am ashamed.

24033058
Glitter by Aprilynne Pike
4/5 Stars
*Monthly Book Club Pick*

The book that broke the slump! As an aspiring French historian, I had a lot of fun with this. Since it wasn’t set in the past, but in the future, I didn’t have to look for inaccuracies. All could be explained away when you understand this is a future society imitating the past. The plot was actually very original, surprisingly. They tied in Ancient Regime French culture with a futuristic society very well, and that is not easy to do. The ending actually surprised me with the “hooking twist”, so much that I’m actually pretty excited to see what happens next.

name-of-the-wind
The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss
4/5 Stars
*Audiobook*

I finally jumped aboard the fantasy hype train. And I have to admit, though I really did enjoy the story and it would have rated it a perfect score if it were’t for the insistence that it’s the holy book of modern fantasy. That and I got a bit bored towards the very end of the book. I really loved the magic school bits where he was with his friends, but when he left the school, I got pretty bored and had to force myself to struggle through it. The writing was beautiful, I will admit to that. Patrick Rothfuss is a master at making even the most mundane of activities sound beautiful.

6a76546293b212bf51fb35db26b49b5a
Caraval by Stephanie Garber
4/5 Stars
*Favorite of the Month*

Where to even start? First I should mention that this book took me a really long time to read. I was still slumping pretty bad. I think it would have been a five star book if I had read it within a few days. But having it broken up so much made me forget certain details and generally care a little less than I normally would about the characters. The world of Caraval was so magical, much like the Night Circus, I wanted to visit it as soon as the characters arrived. I can see where some could compare the two, but I didn’t instantly fall in love with it from page one like I did with the Night Circus. I did really like that this book COULD have been a stand alone if it wanted to be. That being said, I do want to continue on with the series.

Currently Reading:

gabaldon-dragonfly-in-amber-220x332    29044

2 responses to “April 2017 Wrap-Up

Leave a Reply

