January Wrap-Up | 2017

I am the worst book blogger in the entire universe. Seriously. I’ve had the worst reading slump ever and I’m trying so hard to break out of it, but I’m struggling. I only read two books in January and let me tell you, it sucks. We’ve all been there. I keep buying books, but I haven’t been reading them. I have issues, guys.

23299512
This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab
4.5/5 Stars

*Best book of the month*

It’s not that hard to pick a “best book of the month” when you only read two. But I’m giving it to this one anyways. I’ve come to expect a pretty high level of quality when it comes to Victoria Schwab since she is forever my favorite author, and this didn’t disappoint at all. The concept, the characters and the initial hook were all first class. The whole concept that when you commit an act of violence it creates an immediate physical consequence (a monster) is so beyond what a lot of other YA books would even dare to dream up. I only took off a half of a star because there were parts that I found tedious. I really loved reading about a pair of characters that had no romantic involvement with one another even though it could have so easily gone down that path. I’m very much looking forward to the sequel and conclusion of this series.
This Savage Song Goodread’s Page

 


51oiuodzdpl-_sx332_bo1204203200_
Queen of the Night by Alexander Chee
3/5 Stars  2/5 Stars
*Audiobook & Montly Book Club Pick*

I think I was being a bit generous when I rated this now that I’m thinking back to it, because my recollections are not very positive. Before I started the audiobook, I tried reading this in it’s physical form. Instantly I was irritated because the book is written as if the protagonist is telling you a story. There are no quotations to indicate when dialogue begins and ends and the grammar is very peculiar to say the least. I knew I would struggle with it, so I bought it on audible, moved on from there. I thought maybe if the story was being read to me, then I would be okay with it. I was very wrong.
tumblr_ndaidwbepp1sxvzz9o2_250
I had so many issues with this book. It took me a month and a half to finish it. It’s a pretty decent sized book, but it should not have taken as long as it did. I was intrigued in the beginning with the start of this opera singer’s childhood and how she joined a circus. That was all pretty exciting and held my attention for about the first quarter of the book, but once you actually start to get in to the parts that actually involve opera, it gets extremely boring and tedious. There are several cases of insta-love with characters that are barely mentioned for more than two pages, a protagonist who clearly has never made an adult decision in her life and  decides to deal with everything by running away from it and then crying about it for almost an entire chapter. The protagonist literally ruins everyone’s life that she comes in contact with in one way or another, then pretends like she’s completely blameless. I seriously was begging for someone to murder her about halfway through the book.

Here’s my biggest gripe. I’m a huge fan of opera, an even bigger fan of historical fiction and am borderline obsessed with French history. This book should have blown me away. It left me so irritated that I probably would give this book away if the spine wasn’t ridiculously beautiful. Now that I’m thinking of it, I’m docking this book a star. Just typing about it is actually making me mad.
Queen of the Night Goodread’s Page


Let me know down below if you’ve read either of these and what you thought of them!
(No spoilers please)

One response to “January Wrap-Up | 2017

Leave a Reply

