The Bookish Academy Awards | 2016

A resolution of mine is to actually blog more. I’ve been awful at it in 2016. Let’s be real. But this was one of my favorite posts to do last year. So I figured on the last days of 2016, I’d go over my favorites. Please comment below on your thoughts on any books or opinions mentioned. Please feel free to steal this tag, I didn’t originate it. And keep in mind these are books I READ in 2016, they didn’t all come out in 2016.

Best Male Protagonist
18584855
Jest (Hartless by Marissa Meyer)
Daniel (Shadow of the Wind)
Kazz (Six of Crows)
Rowan (Queen of Shadows)
Kelsier (The Final Empire)

Best Female Protagonist
28962906
Audrey Rose (Stalking Jack the Ripper)
Blue Sargent (The Raven Cycle)
Delilah Bard (A Darker Shade of Magic)
Kady (Illuminae)
Iseult (Truthwitch)

Best Plot Twist
9781780748375_0
Illuminae
Everything, Everything
Stalking Jack the Ripper
Before I Fall
The Diviners

Best Book Cover
screen-shot-2015-11-03-at-3-16-04-pm
The Raven King
Heartless
Everything, Everything
The Witch of Painted Sorrows
Six of Crows

Best Supporting Character
raven-boys
Noah Czerny (The Raven Cycle Series)
Hatta (Heartless)
Memphis (The Diviners)
Theta (The Diviners)
Manon (Queen of Shadows)

Most Unique World
a-court-of-mist-and-fury
A Court of Mist and Fury
Mistborn
The Raven Cycle
Illuminae
Truthwitch

Best “New-to-you” Author
final-empire
Brandon Sanderson
Kerri Maniscalco
Melissa Meyer
Emily St. John Mandel
Jay Kristoff

Worst Book of the Year
bookcover_home_before_i_fall
Before I Fall
The Nest
My Grandmother Told Me to Tell You She’s Sorry

Best Book of the Year
18584855
Heartless by Marissa Meyer
A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J Maas
Stalking Jack the Ripper by Keri Maniscalco
Truthwitch by Susan Dennard
Illuminae by Aimee Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

Let me know your favorites of this year and if you agree or disagree with my choices down below!
tumblr_obmvxh8cwp1tanpf5o1_400

 

2 responses to “The Bookish Academy Awards | 2016

  1. Bookish Academy Awards is my favorite tag! That was awesome how you added other nominees in each category and that Raven Cycle (my favorite series of the year) featured prominently in several categories. Waiiiitaminute, I think I must read Stalking Jack the Ripper, if not for the title alone. Ppeople seem to either love or hate Before I Fall. Sorry you fell into the latter category ’cause I loved it. XD

    Liked by 1 person

    • Stalking Jack the Ripper came in a close second for my favorites. It’s so so so good. Especially if you love mysteries set in gloomy Victorian London! And I just found out it’s a series. So there will be even more books!

      Like

Leave a Reply

