December Wrap-Up | 2016

Another month where I didn’t read as much as I should, another year where I didn’t meet my reading goal. It’s tough when you love stories in so many different mediums. Video games, TV Shows, Movies, etc. All in all, I had an okay month. The books that I did manage to read were pretty fantastic for the most part. Even though I only read two. So I’m going to treat this post more like two short book reviews since there are so few.
tumblr_inline_ngj81vwepn1rs1zzn

18584855
*Favorite Book of the Year*
Heartless by Marissa Meyer
5/5 Stars

Where do I even begin with this book? It put me in a huge slump after I finished it. All I could think about were the characters and how the story left off and how there’s no way there will be another book. I just kind of wanted to lay on the floor for several hours heartbroken after I finished the last page. Even almost three weeks later I’m still kind of stuck in that twisted beautiful world. And daydreaming about the very dashing leading man, Jest.

tumblr_inline_ndy3a4r1vd1rr8olb

I think about halfway through I knew the book was going to be on my favorites list, by the end it was my favorite of the year (beating Stalking Jack the Ripper by the smallest bit). Meyer not only adds on to the already existing lore of Wonderland but she made it even more vibrant and beautiful with her wonderful characters. I especially loved how she created a world of high society within Wonderland that worked so incredibly well and it added so much depth to the plot by weaving in court politics.

final-empire
*Audiobook*
The Final Empire (Mistborn Book #1) by Brandon Sanderson
4.5/5 Stars

I’ll be honest, the reason I docked half of a star was because I felt like the book didn’t live up to the hype. I really loved it, but I feel like I didn’t love it as much as I should have. It was a lot harder to actually get in to than I anticipated. I really didn’t enjoy it until about a quarter of the way through the book if I’m being completely honest, which is really unusual for me when it comes to fantasy. I found the magic system confusing and I found the characters very lackluster. Then it took a turn for the better. The characters began to grow on me and the “metal burning” was less convoluted than I first anticipated. In the last part of the book I couldn’t listen to it fast enough, I had to know what was going to happen, I had to know the answers to the burning questions that started at the very beginning.

I’m definitely going to be continuing on with this series, the first book was definitely enough to keep my interest. People have assured me that the second and third books are more interesting since the world building is over to which I have no doubt. Vin definitely started to grow on me quickly, I found her to be very unique for a female fantasy protagonist. I really love how Sanderson wrote a very soft spoken character who didn’t have to change in order to become interesting and powerful. I also love how he makes a lot of his characters very deeply flawed, especially Kelsier.

Let me know in the comments below what you read this month or what you thought of the books I read!
tumblr_mnjl98wfvv1r6y67yo6_250

Leave a Reply

