September Wrap-Up and Reading Update 2016

23507745
*MONTHLY BOOKCLUB PICK*
Serafina and the Black Cloak by Robert Beatti
3/5 Stars

I didn’t necessarily love this book, but I didn’t really hate it either. It certainly had a creepy feel to it and had a very dark and mysterious story. But for some reason I just got irritated with it at certain points. Yes, it was a middle grade book. But even for a middle grade I found the “big reveals” at the end to be far too obvious and felt like parts of it were entirely unnecessary. Her country accent sort of got to me by the end of the book. There were also parts that I enjoyed too though, mostly that our heroine wasn’t the “naturally clever bookworm from a middle class family”. She was a lower class girl with little to no education. That was certainly different, especially in a setting that oozed wealth and excess. The writing was quite good, but in the end I don’t think it interested me enough for me to continue with the series. 

1168191
Meditations by Marcus Aurelius
4/5 Stars

This was one of those books I kept beside my bed and would read little by little before I went to sleep. The book consists of bits of wisdom and advice from Marcus Aurelius taken from letters and speeches. For those not familiar, he was one of the great Roman Emperor’s widely revered for his wisdom and goodness. As a scholar of history, I found it endlessly fascinating that all of wisdom and observations still hold up to this day.

79329_original
Queen of Shadows (Throne of Glass #4) by Sarah J Maas
5/5 Stars

As always, I enjoyed this book immensely. It opened up whole new horizons in the story line and even had me loving a character I was previously ambivalent about. I’m of course talking about Manon. I previously tolerated her chapters, but in this one I really looked forward to them. But I still enjoyed every moment of Celaena vs. (enter male character) banter and the nail biting action. The downside is, as much as I really love the TOG books, it always takes me FOREVER to read them. I can’t seem to just sit down and read them within a few days. It takes me at least two weeks per book in the series. 

llwdacohmndlqsifnpvw
*FAVORITE BOOK OF THE MONTH*
The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August by Claire North
3.5/5 Stars

This was another recommendation from Regan over at Peruseproject on Youtube. This was the optional bookclub book (We choose two a month. One mandatory, one optional). I was pretty pumped going in to it. The writing was the star of this book. It was descriptive and interesting without being overly pretentious. Harry August was an incredibly dynamic character that very visibly grows as a person as he dies and is reborn again repeatedly, each time learning from the previous life. What’s really cool about this story is that each life is drastically different from the last. The downside was that this book was pretty heavy on physics. You can follow it pretty easily, but I felt it really took away from the story as a whole and had me incredibly uninterested at times. The book also took me about two weeks to read because every time the scientific verbal frenzies took the main focus of the story, I found reasons to get distracted and not read it. I was instantly interested at the start, it lagged in the middle, but the end was ultimately intriguing and very satisfying. If you don’t mind some science heavy language, I’d recommend picking this one up. 

Currently Reading

51txqrgobyl-_sx329_bo1204203200_          28962906

Have you read any of the books I mentioned or am currently reading? Let me know what you thought of them below! What was your favorite book of the month? Let me know! 

Leave a Reply

