TBR’s and why I’m done with them.

It’s been a while since I’ve blogged about anything other than a wrap up and a TBR. I really had to think about why that was. What was keeping me from blogging weekly? There are plenty of tags, plenty of books to review. Sure, I’ve been working a ridiculous amount, but I still get days off. So why wasn’t I blogging? Once I thought about it and had a look across my room, it dawned on me. I hate TBR’s. I grew to hate my TBR shelf. Just looking at it pissed me off.

ughhhh

There are a few reasons for this revelation.

I was setting goals that seemed possible on paper, but not in practice. I said “I can totally do eight books a month, that’s just two books a week!”. Then I pressured myself to read when I was tired or not in the mood to because I was so determined to meet my goal. With working more than fifty hours a week, finding time to read a lot isn’t easy. And reading more in quantity than quality just isn’t worth it. 

This limited the diversity of my reading. Putting priority on books, made me read less diversely and thus, I enjoyed them less. Books started bleeding in to one another and soon I couldn’t even recall the events of a book that I read only two or three weeks ago with any sort of detail. And if I couldn’t enjoy even think through the book, what was the point of reading it? 

My TBR shelf became a glaring reminder of how I wasn’t meeting my reading goals. As mentioned before, the goals weren’t realistic. So seeing a constant reminder of my so called “failure” wasn’t helping my reading habits, it was making them worse. At one point I was just not reading even though I wanted to read. 

If I’m not reading, I’m not writing. I’ve been writing since before I can remember. Making up little stories, little tales. And if I’m not constantly being inspired by other authors, then how can I develop my own style? If I’m not writing, I’m not happy. If I’m not reading, I’m not happy. It completely destroys my center and any sort of creative process that I have. 

Severely limited my ability to read books “in the moment”Sometimes you finish a book, and the next one you want to pick up is what you’re in the mood for. With a TBR of 5-8 books, this limits picking from impulse. And honestly, sometimes impulse reads are the best reads of all.

What are your thoughts on TBR’s? Let me know below.
oh_yes_creepy_loki

~The Grisha Lieutenant

9 responses to “TBR’s and why I’m done with them.

  1. I think that biggest problem is like you said, that we don’t have realistic goals about tbrs.
    I see that in a library where I go nuts. I just can’t pick up 2 or 3 books, I know I will be able to read. No, usually I bring home 10 books, even though I know, I will not have time to read them all. And even if I would read them, I still have many unread books that I own. But no… I just keep bringing home a pile of books which remain unread.
    Not to mention all the challenges where I force myself to read specific books just to end a task. I thought that challenges would help me read more diverse books, but I just get frustrated.
    I would say that this is a vicious circle of every reader. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Totally agree! I have a giant list on my phone of all the books I want to read, plus my Goodreads, plus the physical books in the house, plus everything on my ereader. Working full time plus being a mom, there’s no way I’m getting to these in a timely manner! Plus I work for a publisher, so books to read for work as well. I absolutely hear you when you talk about impulse reads. I just had to push myself through Allegiant and I’m pretty sure it wasn’t worth it! Good for you for reds mining your goals and thinking about what really makes you happy!! A stack of unread books is a pile of possibilities, but not when it stresses you out!

    Liked by 1 person

    • When reading becomes another job (other than your publishing job c: ) then somethings’s wrong. We’re already worked enough as is, stress shouldn’t be involved. But I feel so much better now that I’ve eliminated the TBR bookshelf in my room. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I really relate to this post. With all the pressures of work and such limited free time, why make our TBR an obligation too? My TBR list constitutes more of a suggestion than a concrete obligation. I’m always shifting books around. For some reason, but this past month I tried creating a specific TBR list for myself of books I would definitely read. Of course, that changed based on mood and opportunity. I like how surprise books get thrown into the mix last-minute in teh way of new books that become available at the library, interesting ARCs, good deal on Kindles. In that way, I’m like Dug the dog in the movie Up: “book.”

    Liked by 1 person

    • I always say I need to read the books that have lived on my shelf for a while first, but am in the mood for a newer release. Then while I’m reading the old book, I’m thinking about another. It’s not fair to either book. And we should never have pressure on something as enjoyable as reading. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

