August Wrap-Up | September TBR 2016

Another month has come and gone. Once again, I’ve failed in my goals to read as much as possible. But this time I actually have a valid reason. I was promoted at work and for the last three weeks I’ve been working my new position, my old one and training the person who’s replacing me in my old position. So…that’s a lot of overtime and exhaustion. Not the ideal mindset for reading. Also, it was my birthday on August 31st. I spent most of the day catching up on sleep. As boring as that as. Anyways! On with what I did read.

911xmhn92brlHarry Potter and the Cursed Child

Four word review: THIS IS NOT CANNON

dream-thieves-cover
The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater
5/5 Stars

Something you should know if you haven’t read this series, it’s a character driven series. There is more than enough plot and storyline, but it’s the characters that keep you hooked to this series. Ronan Lynch is the focus of the second in the anthology and I didn’t love him until I finished this book. What really stands out in this series is the atmosphere and the unparalleled creepiness that are present in all four books.

17378508
Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater
5/5 Stars

This one was probably my favorite out of the quartet. It focuses on Adam Parrish more so than the others. In the third book of the series, our characters feel the weight of consequence from their actions in the first book. While maintaining the atmospheric and mystic feel of the book, the events take twists and turns at a more rapid pace.  This was probably the book where I grew attached to all five main characters rather than just my favorite.

screen-shot-2015-11-03-at-3-16-04-pm
The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater
4.5/5 Stars

You’ve probably notice this is the only one in quartet that doesn’t have a perfect five star rating. From about midway through the first book, I knew Noah Czerny was my favorite character. I identified with Noah more than any of the others. And as the books progressed, he appeared less each time until he was scarcely mentioned at all. I thought this was a disservice to the series. All through the last one I was waiting for him to show up and he hardly did. Unfortunately, by the end it was apparent he was created for one reason only.

Other than that, I really loved the series as a whole and am really glad it was the main focus of my summer reading. I didn’t get through even half of the books I wanted to read, but at least I read a series I’ll remember for years to come.

Currently Reading
23507745

September TBR
I tried to mix up my TBR as much as possible, because the same books showing up over and over again and not being read told me it wasn’t their time.

23299512   17235026

llwdacohmndlqsifnpvw   79329_original

26156203   nevernight_full_hires-676x1024

name-of-the-wind   41qxefrnx5l-_sx322_bo1204203200_

Let me know if you’ve read any of the ones listed in the comments below!

~The Grisha Lieutenant

5 responses to “August Wrap-Up | September TBR 2016

  1. Congratulations on your new promotion! Hey, I see you polished off the Raven Cycle this month. Well done! I finally read the first book and am so excited to read the other books in the series. I hope you’re able to get through the books on your TBR for September because they’re all REALLY GOOD.

    Like

Leave a Reply

