July Wrap Up | August TBR 2016

It’s that time again! Time to talk about what I read, what I liked, what I didn’t like and what I’m planning on reading next month. I didn’t have the best reading month….again. But I think I’ve been trying too hard to read too many series. I’ve decided to reapply my rule of one classic a month and try to incorporate more diverse books. Maybe this will keep me from slumping. 

July Wrap Up

crxauoovaaegpad

The Evil We Love (3/5 Stars)/Pale Kings and Princes (3/5 Stars)
I continued  with a few more stores from Welcome to Shadowhunter Academy. I found both to be kind of forgettable if I’m honest. It was nice to get some backstory on characters that we’ll be focusing on in Lady MidnightI think I’m just missing Will, Jem and Tessa. I wish all of the stories were about them. 

library-of-souls

Library of Souls (Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children Book 3) by Ransom Riggs
4/5 Stars
There were good things and bad things about this one. The main setting was a nice change of pace to the previous ones that we’ve been used to and the story did move rather quickly. It moved almost too quickly at some parts. I did enjoy the new characters we met, but easily guessed their actions and involvement in the main conflict very early on. The introduction of steampunk elements was actually quite nice. The downside is I didn’t love the last fifty or so pages. I felt like everything was a little too rushed. But at the very end, I was pretty satisfied. Overall, I really loved the series. But I certainly think Ransom has the most talent in writing unique and lovable characters. 

raven-boys

The Raven Boys (The Raven Cycle Book 1) by Maggie Stiefvater
5/5 Stars
I finally read it! And yes, it was just as abnormal, unique and eerie as everyone said it was! I loved it. The best part about it was that I loved every single characterThat almost never happens to me. I will say though, that Noah was my favorite hands down. Noah and Blue. They out-shined the rest just by the slightest amount. I guessed two of the plot twists, but that didn’t take away from my enjoyment at all. The combination of Stiefvater’s masterful character development and her ability to paint such a vivid picture in our minds made for such a strong first book in the series. Her writing is so fluid and beautiful that I cannot wait to see what she writes next.

22608277

The Witch of Painted Sorrows (The Daughters of La Lune Book 1) by M.J. Rose
3/5 Stars
Unfortunately I didn’t love this one as much as I wanted to. This was my pick for my monthly book club and there were a lot of problems. Mainly, the main character was really irritating. She made a lot of really stupid decisions, then complained when things turned out badly. The other characters weren’t fleshed out very well. They had little personality outside of interactions with the main character. There was a small “disguised as a man” plot line in the book that I did quite enjoy. The setting was what I liked the most. The setting of Paris during the Belle Epoque is nothing short of magical. If you want a quick read, go ahead and check this one out. 

Currently Reading:

911xmhn92brl   dream-thieves-cover

August TBR

17378508   screen-shot-2015-11-03-at-3-16-04-pm

41qxefrnx5l-_sx322_bo1204203200_   23299512

17235026   12954620

lola-and-the-boy-next-door   16000044

As always let me know your spoiler free thoughts below on any book mentioned above. Hope you all have an awesome reading month! 

~The Grisha Lieutenant

2 responses to “July Wrap Up | August TBR 2016

Leave a Reply

