June Wrap Up | July TBR 2016

Greetings and Salutations. 
I didn’t have as good of a reading month as I had hoped I would. Same as last month, I’ve been slumping a bit. Luckily, as of last week I’m really out of it this time. I’ve been wanting to read every second since. So I’m hoping I’ll catch up and out do myself this month. I’m 13 books behind on my yearly reading goal and I really want to pick up the slack. Anyways, here’s the books! 

tumblr_noj0y5FJoH1sv754uo4_r1_500

Books Read in June

26200563
Hamilton: the Revolution
Lin Manuel Miranda and Jeremy McCarter
5/5 Stars

I bought this the day it came out with so much anticipation and it did not let me down one bit. Not only is there a break down of all the lyrics, but there’s also a ton of information about how Hamilton came to be and the people behind it. The book cost a pretty penny, but it was so worth it. From the full color pictures to the frayed edges of the pages and the leather binding this book is nothing short of beautiful.A must have for Hamilton fans.

tumblr_o5b9fe3zPJ1v9exiso1_500

71ev3jzqddl
Girl, Interrupted
Susanna Kaysen
3/5 Stars

I wasn’t planning on reading this book, but one day I looked at it on my shelf and saw how short it was. I decided to knock it out and see what I thought of it. I was a little disappointed that I didn’t connect with the author’s story as much as I thought I would. I was expecting more of a cohesive memoir, but what I got was kind of just a cluster of little stories. I enjoyed some of them more than the others, but overall I’m glad I read it.

The Diviners
The Diviners 
Libba Bray
4.5/5 Stars

What can I say about this other than I loved it. I can’t believe I waited so long to read this book (and made my book club read it with me!). All of the characters shined as individuals and there wasn’t a single one that I disliked. There wasn’t a POV that I rolled my eyes at when I went back to it. The backdrop of 1920’s New York mixed with the creepy atmosphere made you feel like you were on a foggy street watching all the events take place. I wasn’t at all disappointed in the villain either, I think I’ll remember Naughty John for quite a while. But I will say if I had a favorite POV, it was Memphis. He was such a lovable character I wish he had his own book. 

tumblr_mwopvjZbH01qcirt0o2_250

23164983
Hollow City
Ransom Riggs
4/5 Stars

Such a satisfying sequel to an iconic first book. It took me a while to finish this book since I was still slumping, but it didn’t take away from my enjoyment at all. I got to see plenty of my favorite character from the first (Horace). I wasn’t sure how I would feel about the new setting, but it ended up being just as memorable as the original. I love the new characters that we meet and it left me begging to know what happened next. It left me with several guesses and questions about the world that I hope will be answered in the last installment.

anna_and_the_french_kiss
Anna and the French Kiss
Stephanie Perkins
2.5/5 Stars

Unfortunately I was pretty disappointed with this one. I heard so many good things about this book. That it was romantic and fluffy, which was just what I needed to get me out of my slump. I read it very quickly, and not because I particularly liked it, but because it was a very easy read. But I just hated the main character. She was so boring and had very little personality. I felt like there was too much emphasis put on the main love interest rather than the main character. The only parts I really enjoyed were the bits and pieces where the main character was exploring Paris and the very end. I felt like there was so much unnecessary conflict and drama in this story that I found myself rolling my eyes a lot of the time. Sorry if you love this book, it just wasn’t for me. 

tumblr_nrsrx6JxDk1rlpicfo1_400

crxauoovaaegpad
The Evil We Love: Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy
Cassandra Clare and Robin Wasserman
3/5 Stars

It wasn’t my favorite out of the short stories I’ve read so far, but I definitely got a lot more understanding about the Lightwood’s and some background on why Valentine came to power. I do have to admit I think I’m just really wanting more Tessa, Will and Jem more than anything.

July TBR

library-of-souls   lola-and-the-boy-next-door

Fallen Kingdoms Covers

TheRavenCycle

22608277   9781619636002

I admit, it’s pretty ambitious. But I really want to catch up to my yearly goal. I think I’ve broken things up enough that it’s obtainable if I really stick to it. Let me know in the comments if you’ve read any of the books I’ve mentioned. As always, please do not spoil in the comments. Good luck on your TBR’s!

~The Grisha Lieutenant

6 responses to “June Wrap Up | July TBR 2016

Leave a Reply

