Book Talk | Cry Worthy Books

This is a well known topic in the book community and we’ve all experienced those books that slap you right in the feels. Before you know it you’re reduced to a weeping mess with tear stained pages and a broken little heart. We have literally all been there at least once. Maybe you didn’t cry, but you got teary eyed or a little overly emotional. 

That moment when they really did just kill your favorite. Your moon and stars. Your baby. They just killed them and you have a lot of feelings about it. Now what do you do? Do you go on with your life? Do you just forget about all the moments you shared together? And HOW DARE THE AUTHOR DO THIS TO YOU. HOW DARE THEY END THE BOOK THERE. 

tumblr_inline_nt08oyeiS61re6y31_540

I’m going to talk about all the moments I wanted to forsake my favorite writers, pitch a tent outside of their house and demand answers. Well, maybe not really, but you know you’ve thought about it. And you of course wish that there was some mistake and your beloved is still alive somehow. Because we fantasy readers know that no one is really dead until the body is burned or disposed of. Even then, they can write a way out of it.

All spoilers will be in black text and you will be warned before hand. Highlight below the section labeled spoilers to reveal them. You have been warned. 

The Books that Ruined my Life

CP2_cover

Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare

It’s a very commonly mentioned one on posts on this topic. I read this book so quickly that I almost go whiplash from it. I had to consume every page and every word at warp speed so that I could see why everyone was so upset by it. I thought I was going to survive the entire book without crying. BOY WAS I WRONG. The ending to this book had so many conflicting feelings that I was confused about how I felt. I was happy, but I was distraught. I was overjoyed, but also in a deep pit of sadness from which I could never come out.

SPOILERS BELOW!! HIGHLIGHT TO REVEAL SPOILERS.
And my precious baby Will Herondale was gone forever. Written away just like that and it seriously broke my heart. He of course, lived a full Shadowhunter life, but he couldn’t live on forever with Tessa and I have never been so angry in my life that Cassandra Clare couldn’t find a way to make him live forever. And then of course, she gets to live another lifetime with Jem. Which makes me happy for her, but at the same time MY WILL IS GONE FOREVER. WHY. I NEED ANSWERS CASSIE.

tumblr_nrjqlg47I61uy3ut1o5_r1_540

Gabaldon_outlander

Outlander by Diana Gabaldon

This is one that I’ve noticed has been extremely absent from a lot of people’s posts. Maybe I just jumped too quickly on the hype train when the TV show was announced? Either way I had the most aggravating mix of pure rage and undiluted sadness when I got towards the back of this book. So many things were happening that were so far from our heroine’s control and you ultimately felt just as powerless as she did about the situation.

SPOILERS BELOW! HIGHLIGHT TO REVEAL SPOILERS!
I’m not a violent person, but if I saw Blackjack Randal in a dark alley alone, I would kick the shit out of him. WHY CAN’T YOU JUST LEAVE JAMIE ALONE. WHY. 

Ruin and Rising

Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo

Everyone who’s read my posts knows how I feel about the love interests in this book. You all know who I wanted Alina to end up with and it just didn’t happen. Not only did they not end up together, but something much worse happened and I am still angry about it. Granted, this is before we knew that Six of Crows was coming, so I thought this universe was over and done with.

SPOILERS BELOW! HIGHLIGHT TO REVEAL SPOILERS!
HOW DARE YOU KILL MY PRECIOUS DARKLING. MY BEAUTIFUL ALEXANDER. NOT OKAY LEIGH, NOT OKAY. THEY WERE DESTINED TO BE LOVERS AND YOU DIDN’T LET IT HAPPEN. I have so many feelings that even all these capitals can’t describe how broken up I still am that Mal got to live and The Darkling didn’t. 
tumblr_mj21a0H1BO1s2mf2bo1_500

The_Fault_in_Our_Stars   220px-me_before_you

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green and Me Before You by Jojo Moyes
The “I knew it was coming but still cried” books

I’m not going to bother with a spoiler section here. If you’ve read them, you know. You knew that the end was coming for both characters and you hated it. AND YOU WANTED IT TO CHANGE. But it didn’t.

dh-us-jacket-art

The Harry Potter Series by J.K. Rowling

I’m pretty sure that everyone agrees with me on these last few. Who didn’t cry at least a dozen times while reading these books? When you think about how many people in Harry’s life died all because of something that happened to him when he wasn’t even old enough to talk. Sometimes I’ll be sitting at work and I just think about it, then I make myself sad. I’m rereading them right now and I’m on Goblet of Fire. I know what’s coming and I am so afraid of it.

SPOILERS BELOW! HIGHLIGHT FOR SPOILERS!
YOU KILLED OFF ALMOST EVERY FATHER FIGURE HARRY EVER HAD. If Mr. Weasley didn’t survive I would have just been so done with it. Or at least I would pretend to be done with it. (I’ll never be done with these books).

tumblr_inline_nm6wcdjCru1sb080b

Let me know in the comments what books made you ugly sob! 

~The Grisha Lieutenant

9 responses to “Book Talk | Cry Worthy Books

  1. Great post. I have only read the John Green and Jojo Moyes books on your list and they definitely made me cry. All boooks by Khaled Hosseini also make me cry and so did the Book Thief by Markus Zusak.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! I really want to get t9 A Thousand Splendid Sons one day and The Book Thief. I’ve been sort of saving them for a rainy or sick day. They seem like the sort of books I’ll have to read in a day.

      Like

  2. Oh one of the many hardships of our favorite past time is a character being killed off. I know for me one of the hard ones I read was in “Allegiant.” That was hard for me to get over. But the good thing to look forward too is finding more books to read and fall in love with! 🙂

    -Lauren

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

