May Wrap Up | June TBR 2016

Ugh. Guys. I really suck at reading goals as of late. I had such a good start at the beginning of the year. Now I’ve just slumped. WHY DOES THIS HAPPEN TO ME. Anyways. On with the books.

SPOILER FREE

May Wrap Up 

bookcover_home_before_i_fall
Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver
2/5 Stars

Okay, so this is one of those books that has been on my shelf for YEARS. I had to pick it up and finally read it. And honestly, I kind of hated it. I couldn’t level with the main character at all, even at the end when she’s suppose to be more redeemable. I just hated her and her friends throughout the entire book. I hated the ending so much. There were so many issues in this book, mainly concerning mental health and stigma. Maybe I would have liked it more if I read it in high school, but even then I think I would have raised an eyebrow at it. I ended up giving it to my 15 year old niece.

a-court-of-mist-and-fury
A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas
5/5 Stars

This book. THIS BOOK. My emotions were fucking EVERYWHERE. I have been Team Rhysand since day one in the first book. But this book just reinforced that belief. Can I just say I want to live at the Night Court? Because I really want to live at the Night Court. I don’t even need Rhysand in that deal, I just want to live in his area. Seriously. I did like the first book more, but this book was equally as good. SO MUCH HAPPENS I CAN’T EVEN. The ending ripped me apart in so many different ways. But it left me holding my hand out saying WHERE IS THE NEXT BOOK. The world expanded so much in this book, we saw more courts, Feyre finally came in to her own and things built up then fall apart.

1232
Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon
4.5/5 Stars

I really loved this book. It was the most atmospheric book I have ever experienced. I say experience because reading this book is an experience unlike any other book I’ve read. There was mystery, murder, history, everything. I’m really good at guessing things in mystery books, I picked up on a lot of the twists, but others just floored me. I had to sit there just thinking about certain things in this book. And seriously guys, if you want some good quotes about books, look in to this. This is a book lover’s book. It’s a book about books and authors and writing. I loved it.

A Gathering of Shadows Final
A Gathering of Shadows by V.E. Schwab
4.5/5 Stars

Another fantastic book. I’ll be honest, I didn’t love it as much as I loved the last one, but I did love it. Kell is one of my favorite characters in fantasy. But Lila was the rockstar of this book. I didn’t love her in the first book, but in this book she won me over. Kell got irritating at certain points and a new character named Allucard is probably my favorite addition. He’s sort of a grey character. The ending was SUCH a cliffhanger. I actually screamed a bit. Alone. In my house. Victoria Schwab is my favorite author and she didn’t disappoint with this addition. 

The Hangover Books
Or books I intended to read, but didn’t. 

79329_original   11861815   135956391   21518344

June TBR

Before I list them, I’m going to explain something. This summer for me is going to be “The Summer of Series”. I’m finally going to knock out those big series everyone talks about and I haven’t read. IT’S TIME.

The Diviners

raven-boys
(Plus The Dream Thieves and Blue Lily, Lily Blue)

Fallen Kingdoms Covers

23164983   library-of-souls

Comment below if you’ve read any of these books and what you thought of them! As always, may the TBR’s be ever in your favor.

~The Grisha Lieutenant

3 responses to “May Wrap Up | June TBR 2016

  1. How did you not read Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas?? That book is freaking incredible! I am re-reading it for the ten-millionth time, and it is probably my favourite book in the Throne of Glass series! I have to admit, I didn’t like Fallen Kingdom’s when I read it, it was dreary and it dragged on. But who knows, you might like it! The Raven Boys is part of a series I have been meaning to read for a long time. Please tell me what you think of it- is it worth reading? I must admit, I agree with your rating of Before I Fall- the main character was not right however, the plot could be worked with, if it had been written by someone else, I might have enjoyed it! I wrote a review on A Court of Mist and Fury, you can look at it here: https://theimmortalreaders.wordpress.com/2016/05/23/book-review-a-court-of-mist-and-fury/. I have to admit, the level of romance kind of brought me down. However, I still plan to read the third book- Sarah J. Maas leaves off with a cliffhanger once again. But be warned, I sort of turned it into a fangirling session for Empire of Storms and the third book. The Shadow of the Wind looks really good though! I think I shall read it.
    Boring you all half to death,
    Laurena

    Like

    • I think I just tried to tackle two really big Sarah J. Maas books in one month and it bit me in the ass. In the end I chose the series I liked more and really wanted to continue with right away. I’m really curious to see if I love or hate both Fallen Kingdoms and The Raven Boys. They seem to have a lot of controversy surrounding them. I’ll definitely check out your review. Please read The Shadow of the Wind, it’s just beautiful. It’s one of those stories that I am still thinking about.

      Like

  2. I also loved The Shadow of the Wind. It’s really beautifully written! And you should totally read Winger when you’ll have time. It’s funny and sad and has everything that good book should have. I was surprised how lovely and amazing this book was.
    And good luck with the series 😀 You have some massive books there, haha. Can’t wait to hear your thoughts about Hollow City – I admit, I started reading it but I had to stop because I didn’t like it. Maybe I’ll give it another try because I enjoyed the first book so much. Don’t know what happened with this one.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

