March Wrap Up | April TBR 2016

Hey everyone! I did a lot better than I though I did when I really looked back and saw how many books I read. The last of which I just finished about an hour ago. Still going to include it in March. Don’t tell. Plz.

This post is completely spoiler free! 

March Wrap Up

21414439

Truthwitch by Susan Dennard
4/5 Stars
I read this mainly because I had the pleasure of meeting the lovely Susan Dennard at a book signing. She was so friendly and just so much fun to listen to during the panel. I am so glad that I finally read this book, it was everything I look for a in fantasy and more. Most of all I loved the bond between the two main characters. I loved how they were completely different individuals, with two completely different story lines that perfectly weaved together to make a great story. Cannot wait for the sequel!

693208 

The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian by Sherman Alexie
4/5 Stars
It was such a great experience reading this book. I was surprised that it was actually pretty hilarious, but also heartbreaking at certain points. I’ve been trying to read more diversely and this was a perfect fit for me. It’s not often I reach for books with male protagonists and this book definitely made me want to do so more often. What I loved the most about it was how cleverly written it was. The narrator was so unique and lovable. If you’ve been staring at this book for over a year, pick it up, you won’t regret it.

19351043

Nimona by Noelle Stevenson
3/5 Stars
I enjoyed this graphic novel a lot. I thought it was really funny and enjoyable, but I didn’t find it particularly memorable. I just sort of put it down and then forgot about it after wards. I’m not HUGE in to graphic novels, I just casually dabble in them. I really loved Nimona as a character, I was pretty indifferent about the others and the story as a whole.

61zvyomy2bzl-_sy344_bo1204203200_

Miss Marvel Vol. 2: Generation Why
5/5 Stars
I mentioned in the last mini-review that I wasn’t huge on graphic novels, which is still true. But I absolutely LOVE Ms. Marvel. I feel like if you took Tumblr and put it in to a superhero, that’s who Ms. Marvel is. The interactions with Wolverine were just hilarious and I can’t wait to pick up the next one.

9781250062635

Scarlet Women by Ian Graham
4/5 Stars
I’m not a tough critic on non-fiction like I am with fiction. I pretty much always enjoy books about history, especially ones about women that we don’t typically hear about. This one did not disappoint. So many fantastic women were showcased in this book that I had a hard time putting it down. My only criticism is that I wanted more information on them. I guess that’s what personal research is for though. Highly recommend this to anyone who wouldn’t typically pick up a history book, you’ll love it. 

72897_original

Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas
5/5 Stars
How could I not rate this a perfect rating? This book is everything. I repeat. This book is everything. Where do I even begin to gush about this amazing story? Okay, I know where. The new characters! YES. Rowan and Aeodin are like the answers to my strange need to read about strong fae men. Something I didn’t know I needed until now? I feel like just those two brought so much more to the story and made it so much more interesting. Secondly, Celaena grew so much as a character. All of the characters that were featured in the first book did. Dorian and Chaol were dramatically different. And that ending! Oh my god. What even. I don’t know. I need a minute. I can’t breath. Send help.

And I never thought I would rip my ship of Celaena/Dorian. No. NO. I now ship the hell out of Celaena/Rowan. They are the only thing that matters. 

220px-aristotle_and_dante_discover_the_secrets_of_the_universe_cover

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sanez
4/5 Stars
Continuing in my diverse reading challenge to myself, we come to this! I only finished this an hour ago and I’m still just filled with warm fuzzies. The relationship that develops between the two main characters was just the greatest. Seeing Aristotle dealing with so many situations all through a span of two years was difficult, some of them hit pretty close to home. But all of that emotional turmoil was so worth the end result of this book. A lot of people will say this book is about the relationship between our two main protagonists, but it’s about so much more than that. Some main themes include family dynamics, cultural identity and sexuality. What I really loved about this was it’s focus on Ari’s family and it’s secrets, and how they slowly reveal themselves as you continue to read this book. If you’re like me and you’ve seen this sitting on your shelf, get it on that TBR. This is just one of those books that you keep close to your heart and it was one of the most beautifully written books I’ve ever read. 
Trigger Warnings: Hate crimes against LGBTQ

 

Audiobooks Completed
16096824
  51RYeVqlj9L._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_
Both were rereads or in this case “reread listens”.

“The Hangover Books”
These are books that I intended to read, but did not. All the books that I categorize as the hangover books stay on a small shelf in my room and serve as “if you’re not in the mood for something on your TBR” books.
gabaldon-dragonfly-in-amber-220x332   25467698   blackbirds_cover   shades-of-milk-and-honey_final-1   15839984

April TBR

A Gathering of Shadows Final    21518344
9781780748375_0    71LkLmxqgjL
79329_original    sge-cover
bookcover_home_before_i_fall    verity-uk

Please let me know if you’ve read any of these books and what you thought about them! As always, please no spoilers in the comments. May your TBR be ever in your favor!

~The Grisha Lieutenant

8 responses to “March Wrap Up | April TBR 2016

  1. Seeing all those AMAZING on your blog with its starry background made me feel I’d died and gone to book heaven. So many good books!! The two I’m most curious about, that I haven’t already read, are The Absolutely True Story of a Part-Time Indian and Code Name Verity. Happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve heard great things about The Absolutely True Diary of a Part Time Indian and I feel like I really need to read it soon!
    Same goes for Eleanor and Park, I really liked Fangirl and I just wanna read this one when I’m in a mood for something cute and fluffy 💕

    Liked by 1 person

    • I didn’t love Fangirl as much as I wanted to. I thought the writing was good, but couldn’t identify much with it. I’m hoping to like Eleanor & Park more. But you definitely should read the Absolutely True Diary of a Part Time Indian. It’s very insightful. I enjoyed it a lot.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

