The Coffee Book Tag!

A massive shout out to Brigitte from The Book and the Bone for tagging me! c:

1. Black Coffee:
A series that’s tough to get in to, but has hardcore fans.
magicians-trilogy

Even though sci-fi channel recently released the TV adaptation, I feel like it’s really hard to get people in to the entire series. A lot of people stop after the first book The Magicians. A lot of people don’t like it enough to continue. To them I say KEEP GOING. The second and third book are amazing. Read them and then come talk to me about them.

2. Peppermint Mocha:
A book that gets more popular during a festive time of the year.
Harry_potter_HBP_Scholastic_edition

I can’t do a tag without including Harry Potter, I can’t do it. But everyone knows, including the lovely lady that tagged me, if it’s Christmas IT IS TIME FOR HARRY POTTER. I don’t even know what it is about Christmas that makes us think of Harry Potter, but it does. But this year I’m going to hopefully read Goblet of Fire, Order of the Phoenix, Half Blood Prince and The Deathly Hallows. I’M GOING TO DO IT.

3. Hot Chocolate:
A favorite children’s book
witchblackbird8

I can barely remember what even happens in this book (re-read time?) or what it’s about other than the obvious. But I remember absolutely LOVING this book  when I was in elementary school. My best friend and I were like the weird kids who liked witches and vampires. This was the 90’s before this stuff was popular, to all the teenagers out there. Be glad this is popular now, because it was rare to find a good witch book back then.

4. Double Shot of Espresso:
A book that kept you on the edge of your seat.
72897_original

It took me a while to read this, longer than I really wanted to. But I was so eager to know what was going to happen the entire time. I had extra hours at work last week and that’s probably why it took me longer than normal. But it was SO EXCITING. I was just so nervous to see what would happen on the next page sometimes I would have to process and put it down. But it was so satisfying, even with the open ending. 

5. Starbucks:
A book you see everywhere
9781780748375_0

I have seen this book all over Booktube and on everyone’s blogs. I haven’t read it yet, but it’s on my “you need to get your shit together” shelf. I see it every time I’m at the bookstore. It’s always staring at me saying “REAAADDD MEEE”. And I’m like I AM WORKING ON IT. I really am looking forward to it.

6. Oops! I accidentally got decaf:
A book you expected more from
Untitled-2

I was hearing SO MANY good things about this series. I read it and I just wasn’t that impressed. I hated the religious system, I hated most of the characters and I found myself just wanting to hurry up and finish the series so I could be done with it. I know a lot of you guys love this series, but it just wasn’t for me.

7. The Perfect Blend:
A book or series that was both bitter and sweet, but ultimately satisfying
me-before-you-book-cover-jan-12-p122

I read this for my book club about a year ago. I was so PISSED at the ending and heartbroken, but in the end I was actually pretty satisfied.I really loved the main character, I thought that she was so fun and lovable. A lot of you are reading it right now because of the movie coming out soon, so good luck! Keep the tissues close.

8. Green Tea:
A book or series that is quietly beautiful
71sjpkgagtl

I read this book a few years ago and I still think back to how much I loved it but didn’t really appreciate it as much back then. It’s set in the area that I live in (around Detroit, MI) and it tackles a very unique issue that we don’t hear about a lot. If you haven’t dabbled much in to adult fiction, this is a pretty great place to start. I know I read primarily YA, like a lot of people out there, but this really made me think of a lot of things in a different way. 

9. Chai Tea:
A book or series that makes you dream of far off places
Gabaldon_outlander

Outlander gives me the biggest sense of wanderlust ever. I’m not sure if it’s just how it’s written or what, but I just want to go on an adventure when I think about it. I have yet to read Dragonfly in Amber which is set in France. Which will probably give me even more wanderlust (I’m a Francophile, I admit it).

10. Earl Grey:
A favorite classic
b4a4ba4763eacabf2133c52dca3487e5

I don’t really talk about this one a lot, but I really loved it when I read it in my first year of college. That was really when I started reading more often. It’s a very chunky book, but it’s so worth the read. Dickens just has this style of writing that really takes you back to his time period and keeps you invested in the story.

There is another question in this tag which is “That Hipster Coffee Shop: A book by an indie author”. I didn’t have an answer, so I didn’t include it. I don’t really read indie authors. D: I’m a hype addict. Sorry.

Feel free to do this tag! Just make sure that you tag me so I can see your answers.

~The Grisha Lieutenant

3 responses to “The Coffee Book Tag!

  1. I loved reading your answers! I haven’t read Me Before You but I’ve been spoiled for it (I caved and watched the trailer so I sort of figured out how it ends) but I do plan on reading it next month and I hope it’s as good as the hype says it is.

    Like

Leave a Reply

