The Bookish Academy Awards 2015!

I’ve seen this on Regan’s channel on Booktube and it looked like such fun. So I decided to do my own! Keep in mind that these are books that I READ in 2015. They didn’t necissarily come out in 2015. 
First I’m going to list the nominees and then the winner will be highlighted in a different color. 

Best Male Protagonist
Uprooted-Naomi-Novik   Clockwork_Angel_1   51ab5fix3ul-_sy344_bo1204203200_

 51RYeVqlj9L._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_   16096824
– The Dragon (Uprooted)
– Will Herondale (The Infernal Devices)
– Dorian Havilliard (Throne of Glass)
Kell (A Darker Shade of Magic)
– Tamlin (A Court of Thorns and Roses)

I chose Kell because he was the most unique out of the five in my opinion. He was the most memorable. Even though Will Herondale is totally my book boyfriend, Kell had to win. When I was reading ADSOM I found Kell to be extremely unpredictable and endlessly fascinating.

Best Female Protagonist
51ab5fix3ul-_sy344_bo1204203200_   Clockwork Princess   Tiger Lily Cover
Gabaldon_outlander   10429092
– Celaena Sardothien (Throne of Glass)
Tessa Gray (The Infernal Devices)
-Tiger Lily (Tiger Lily)
– Clare Beauchamp (Outlander)
– Elisa (The Girl of Fire and Thorns)

I had to pick Tessa. She’s everything I could ever want in a protagonist. She’s smart, she’s witty and she always does what she feels is right. She doesn’t let anyone decide her fate, she takes control of her own life.

Best Plot Twist
Clockwork Princess   16429619   Uprooted-Naomi-Novik
Heavenly Fire   {25D80D22-D632-4BD1-BE92-39F3D20CD873}Img400
Clockwork Princess
– Kiss of Deception
– Uprooted
– City of Heavenly Fire
– The Wicked Will Rise

The ending was just so perfect. I was so worried about it because I was spoiled for part of it. It ended up being perfect. I was so happy about it. I cried a lot. But half of those tears were out of joy, I promise. That twist gave me a HUGE book hangover.

Best Book Cover
51RYeVqlj9L._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_   Uprooted-Naomi-Novik   Cure for Dreaming
512CO-MfFYL._SX339_BO1,204,203,200_   21393526
Winner: The Heart of Betrayal

Best Supporting Character
me-and-earl-and-the-dying-girl-book-cover-218x340   COLS_cover   10429092
Tiger Lily Cover   Uprooted-Naomi-Novik
Earl (Me and Earl and the Dying Girl)
– Magnus Bane (The Mortal Instruments)
– Storm (The Girl of Fire and Thorns)
– Tik Tok (Tiger Lily)
– Kasia (Uprooted)

Even though I didn’t particularly love the book, most of my problems were with the main character. Earl was one of the realest characters I’ve ever read about and one of the few book characters I would legitimately want to be friends with in real life.

Most Unique World
Cassandra_Clare_City_of_Fallen_Angels_book_cover   51ab5fix3ul-_sy344_bo1204203200_   21393526
61BcvUoJGML._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_   16096824
Winner: Magonia

I have never read about a universe more creative than the one in Magonia. Just the whole idea of the world above the clouds but not quite in space was sort of mind blowing to me. Even though it wasn’t my absolute favorite of the year, I can’t say any other is more unique.

Best Screenplay Adaptation
16-me-and-earl-and-the-dying-girl   the-hunger-games-mockingjay-part-2-movie-poster   mv5bmje2odqxodmwof5bml5banbnxkftztgwndy5njy3nde-_v1_sx640_sy720_
Winner: Me and Earl and the Dying Girl

I liked the movie more than I liked the book. I think in the film they actually fixed a lot of the problems that I had with the book. Earl was always present, Greg wasn’t such an idiot, and I emotionally connected to it. I did like Paper Towns and Mockingjay, but I couldn’t say I liked them more than Me and Earl and the Dying Girl.

A Book you would love to see Animated
3bb8613d-925c-45bc-ad90-3099bb288a94._V302183067_   51tcOdH7JTL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_   InRealLife-Cov-300rgbFinal
61vN8LI0tzL._SX258_BO1,204,203,200_   ZZ48DF98EC
Winner: Through the Woods

It was hard for me to think of the books I read other than Armada as animated features. But Through the Woods would make an awesome animated movie. It’s creepy, it’s intriguing and I would definitely watch it if they were to make it.

Best Author (Who you read for the first time this year)
Sarah J. Maas

– Rae Carson
– Diana Gabaldon
– Naomi Novik
– Patrick Ness

I couldn’t not pick her. I absolutely adore everything I’ve read by her. EVERYTHING.

Best Collection of Short Stories
51yK4RMuLlL._SX325_BO1,204,203,200_
It was the only one I read last year. So, it wins by default. But I did really enjoy it. It brought more perspective to the series.

Best Historical or Historical Fiction
image   Cure for Dreaming   Gabaldon_outlander
51u172w9m9l-_sx330_bo1204203200_
Winner: Vive la Revolution: A Stand-Up History of the French Revoltuion

I loved this book so much. It was such a new approach to reading about history. Especially about a subject that I love so much. I would recommend it to anyone who’s intimidated by historical novels. It was so hilarious and I refer to it a lot.

Best Book of the Year
16096824

If you’ve read my blog, this should be no surprise. I just listened to it on audiobook as a refresher for when A Court of Mist and Fury comes out. I loved it just as much the second time. I fangirled so hard each time and I still think about it all the time.

I hope you enjoyed this post! Let me know which of the books you would have picked.

~The Grisha Lieutenant

I’m tagging:
Eve Messenger
J Bookish
Cath
Island Geek Girl
YAPS!

If you do the tag, tag me so I can see your answers!


 

11 responses to “The Bookish Academy Awards 2015!

  1. This was such a good post. I so agree with you about Kel and Magonia (that it wasn’t my favorite but the world building was mind blowiingly imaginative.) Wow, so you like ACOTAR better than Throne of Glass? Cool! I own ithat one and must get to it soon. Re: Tessa and your book boyfriend, I just “met” them for the first time a couple of days when I started my first Clare book, The Clockwork Angel.

    Like

    • I think it was maybe because I read ACOTAR first that I connected with it more. I found it a lot more magical and enthralling. I still absolutely adore TOG especially as I am continuing with the series. I’m reading Heir of Fire right now. And I’m so excited for you! I love the Infernal Devices so much. Will and Jem and Tessa are all such wonderful characters. 🙂 Let me know how you like it!

      Like

  2. I REALLY REALLY LOVE SARAH J MAAS. this is such a cute tag/award! I almost completely agree with all of these with you, except maybe the best cover. Teehee…! Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ooh have you seen the UK edition of Uprooted?! It’s got such a beautiful cover!! I have yet to buy and read this book but I’ve only heard great things about it so I can’t wait to finally pick up a copy! Hehe and Tessa Gray is everything I’d want to BE. Haha, she’s just such a great character, and I didn’t want to throw her out a window like I did with Clary.

    Like

  4. Pingback: Bookish Academy Awards 2015 – Trust in the Words

Leave a Reply

