February Wrap Up | March TBR 2016

I’m sad to report that February was a slump month for me. I didn’t read nearly as many books as I had planned. Not even close all of those on my TBR. I guess it’s all the winter storms that got me not wanting to do much of anything but mindlessly watch things. I’m hoping to do better in March. These things happen, right? Anyways!

February Wrap Up

23437156

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo
4/5 Stars
This book had me slumping around the middle of it. Not at all because it was boring or because it was bad. I just may have not been in the right mood for it for about three days. When I finally committed to picking it back up, I was drawn right back in the The Grisha universe. I absolutely adored Nina and Kaz. They were my favorites of the gang of misfits. I can’t wait until Crooked Kingdom comes out now. The ending left me wanting more and more.

funny_story_front

It’s Kind of a Funny Story by Ned Vizzini
4.5/5 Stars
I haven’t read a contemporary I loved this much since my first read through of Looking for Alaska. The treatment of mental illness in this book was beyond words. It’s been a very long time since I’ve related to a character on such a deep personal level. I read this book so fast that I almost want to reread it. For more thoughts, I did a post comparing the book and the movie. The Book vs. The Movie | It’s Kind of a Funny Story

18243700

The Assassin’s Blade by Sarah J. Maas
5/5 Stars
As always, I adore Sarah J. Maas and this book was no exception to that. I really loved seeing Celaena’s backstory and how she ended up in the Salt Mines. Every one of the stories were so well written and so enjoyable to read. Even though at parts it was quite heartbreaking, I would gladly reread any of these stories.

cover_wuthering_heights

Wuthering Heighs by Emily Bronte
2.5/5 Stars
I went in to this book thinking that I would really love it because Jane Eyre is my favorite book of all time and I generally really enjoy classics. I have never been so wrong about a book in my entire life. I had so many problems with the characters that this book FLUNG me in to a slump. I hated every single character and got so irritated that I really think that this book ruined my reading month. Heathcliff made me want to pull my hair out. I cannot fathom why anyone would see that man as romantic. He ruined the lives of countless people because of his own jealousy and hatred. I wanted to throw this book across the room so many times.

“The Hangover Books”
These are books that I intended on reading during February, but unfortunately I didn’t get to. They’re going to get circulated back to my TBR shelve and possibly picked up in March.
passenger   9781619636002   15801668   22533415   17234658

March TBR

gabaldon-dragonfly-in-amber-220x332   9781250062635

  25467698   693208

 72897_original   220px-aristotle_and_dante_discover_the_secrets_of_the_universe_cover

blackbirds_cover   15839984

 shades-of-milk-and-honey_final-1

Let me know your (spoiler free) thoughts on any of the books above! Thanks as always for reading, and may the book odds be ever in your favor.

~The Grisha Lieutenant

10 responses to “February Wrap Up | March TBR 2016

  1. Though I’m not a fan of caper stories, Six of Crows had a beautifully wrought world and such memorable characters. My favorites were Nina and The Wraith.

    Now you’ve got me curious to read It’s Kind of a Funny Story.

    Too bad about Wuthering Heights. I remember liking it, but I bet it’s such a long time ago. If I picked it up now I’d probably have a totally different feeling about it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Wraith was magnificent wasn’t she? I thought at the start that she would be my favorite, then ended up connecting more with Nina. Strange how that happens.
      It’s Kind of a Funny story I picked up on impulse and I’m so glad I did. It’s a very quick read that’s very rewarding.
      The reason Wuthering Heights got higher than a one star rating from me was because of how beautiful the writing was. Maybe that’s why you loved it? I think if I had read it in high school I would have sympathized with Heathcliff a bit more before I matured. He’s quite the brooding main character if you don’t understand adult relationships.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

