The Classics Book Tag!

I was tagged by the lovely Eve Messenger to do this tag. And it’s cold out and I’m reading a classic right now, so it’s the perfect time.

1. An overhyped classic that you didn’t like
thingtheycarriedcover
For some reason this was just about the only book from high school English class that I didn’t like. It might be due to the fact that I hate modern warfare and basically the entire idea of war and death. I didn’t find anything to relate to in this book which is sad because I know a lot of people adore this novel.

2. Favorite time period to read about
9999107
Since I’m a history junkie and I love LOVE historical fiction. So I’m going to say my CURRENT favorite time period is WWI England. I think it’s my obsession with Downton Abbey that’s fueling it.

3. Favorite Fairy Tale
00ea059736280bb14648b78bf8bc614e
Peter Pan has always been a particular favorite of mine ever since I was a kid. I loved the Disney movie and watched it over and over again when I was little. Now it may have been enhanced by Once Upon a Time just a little bit.

4. Most embarrassing Classic that you haven’t read
9780141199702
For someone completely obsessed with The French Revolution, it’s pathetic that I haven’t read this book yet. It’s the ultimate historical fiction.

5. Top Five Classics you want to read
– 
Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte (currently reading)
– Madame Bovary by Gustave Flaubert
– Paradise Lost by John Milton
– The Side of Paradise by F. Scott Fitzgerald
– Persuasion by Jane Austin

6. Favorite modern book that’s based on a Classic
I’ve never actually read one. If you know of any good ones, leave a suggestion below!

7. Favorite movie based on a Classic
mv5bnju0mjc0nzu3nf5bml5banbnxkftztcwmtu4otkwna-_v1_uy1200_cr8906301200_al_
It’s pretty surprising that my favorite adaptation of a classic is based on my favorite book of all time that also happens to be a classic. I thought they captured the essence of Jane Eyre extremely well in this adaptation. Most of the lines were straight out of the book. There were no “extra” events or unnecessary additions to the movie. The acting is spectacular and the Rochester/Jane feels are real.

8. Worse adaption of a Classic
The Scarlett Letter movie with Demi Moore. It was awful.

9. Favorite editions you would like to collect
3-janeausten
The Penguin English Library Editions

10. An Underhyped Classic
atwood1
I hardly hear anything about this book on blogs, booktube or anywhere. It’s a thought provoking and heartbreaking tale. But very worth a read. Especially for women.

I’m going to tag some lovely people who’s posts I really enjoy. Please check their blogs out!

Dilara from Deceived by Dreams
Samantha from Samanthafabris
Jesse from Books at Dawn
Cath from Trust in the 

~ The Grisha Lieutenant

8 responses to “The Classics Book Tag!

  1. The Handmaid’s Tale was my number one read last year! It’s fantastic. A Tale of Two Cities is difficult to wade through but it’s beautiful. I had to read it twice for school: in 8th and 10th grade. The first time I hated it, the second I LOVED it. I like to see the post about classics!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I really enjoyed reading your answers. Lifeg is short, and there are soany books I want to read. I’ve been going back and forth on whether or not to read The Handmaiden’s Tale. The theme and writing style I know I’d appreciate, but I’ve heard the protagonist is pretty milquetoast and there’s no resolution to the story. Thoughts?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Peter Pan is also my favourite Disney film (next to Beauty and The Beast) and my favourite classical book. I also really want to collect the penguin editions of the classics. They’re super pretty. Every time I’m in Waterstones it’s like should I buy it or leave it? Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

