January Wrap-Up | February TBR 2016

This month really flew by in terms of reading. I set myself a pretty high goal. Higher than I usually go. I decided this year was going to be the year that I would read 100 books or more, no matter what. I have to do it. I CAN do it.

As far as quality, this month was a very VERY good reading month. I even did pretty good in quantity. I just did a post on how I rate books. Check it out if you’re curious!

January Wrap-Up

15783514

Ocean at the End of the Land by Neil Gaiman
5/5 Stars
This was such a great start to the year. It was a very short book, but it packed a huge punch. I found myself getting quite emotional during certain parts. I thought about it a lot after I finished it. Neil Gaiman is a master of magical realism and he will always be my favorite male author.

23492282

Nowhere But Here by Katie McGarry (Thunder Road #1)
3/5 Stars
I did a full review on this if you’re interested. I initially rated it 4/5, but I think that was a bit impulsive. When I reflected back, I knocked it down a star. But I don’t want you to think I didn’t enjoy it, I really did. It was cute, sweet and a very quick read.

the_magiciains_land

The Magician’s Land by Lev Grossman (The Magician’s #3)
4.5/5 Stars
This is the conclusion to The Magician’s Series and it was the best one. People love to compare this series to Harry Potter and say that it’s an “adult version”. I can see the parallels but I DO NOT recommend you go in to it thinking that. You’ll end up disappointed. I love this series to pieces. I have a full series review if you’re interested.

deadly

Deadly Class Vol. 1
1/5 Stars
I can’t really tell you why I hated this graphic novel, but I did. It just did not sit well with me. Sorry if you love it, I just didn’t like it at all.

9999107

American Heiress by Daisy Goodwin
4/5 Stars
This book was everything that I wanted it to be. I’m suffering from a severe Downton Abbey hangover. This helped me with the withdraws between seasons. I really loved how the book read exactly like an episode. I found myself going from hating the main character to loving her by the end of the book. I loved the ending, can’t wait to read Daisy Goodwin again.

17167166

Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas (Throne of Glass #2)
5/5 Stars
As always, Sarah J Maas delivered. I was even more enthralled in the world in this book than I was in the first book. My love for Dorian Havilliard grew, as well as my love for the amazing Celaena Sardothien. The ending left me wanting to instantly read the next book. The book was full of magic, intrigue and mystery. I can’t wait to keep reading.

Red Queen
Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard (Red Queen #1)
3/5 Stars
I literally finished this a little over an hour ago. I was hesitant because of the love/hate relationship everyone has with this book. I found myself in the middle. I really liked the story, the world and the action in this book, but I found that a lot of the characters fell sort of flat for me. They all seemed to sort of blend together near the end of the book. I predicted quite a few things. I thought the book was very entertaining and I certainly will be continuing on.

“Hangover” Books
These are books I didn’t quite get to last month as planned. I may or may not incorporate them in if I have extra time.
23437156   17234658   splintered-a-g-howard
Note: I am currently reading Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

February TBR

15801668   22533415

21414439   passenger

9781619636002   18243700

cover_wuthering_heights

Let me know if you’ve read any of the books mentioned and what you thought of them! Thanks for reading! May you crush your TBR.

~The Grisha Lieutenant

2 responses to “January Wrap-Up | February TBR 2016

  1. Ok, so I started audio booking Six of Crows and I can’t get into it. I’m not sure if it’s the book or just my mood.

    But I quite liked A Thousand Pieces of You! I also really need to read The Magicians so I can watch the show, lol

    Liked by 1 person

    • I actually really love Six of Crows. I’m about 50 pages in and super excited to keep reading. Maybe you’re just not in the mood for the super action packed fantasy right now? Who knows. Sometimes the timing just has to be right.
      I’m really excited for A Thousand Pieces of You. I’ve been meaning to read it for like a year now and already have the sequel. Figure it’s finally time.
      And with the Magician’s the first book is a bit slow. It takes a bit to really get in to the characters and the world. The last third of the book usually hooks people enough to continue and the second and third you fly through in my opinion. I really liked the first episode of the show and thought it was very close to the book.

      Like

Leave a Reply

