Weekly Reading Update | New Years Resolutions

I’ve had a pretty good last few days in terms of reading. I managed to get through more books in the last week than I have in a long time. That’s good news, right? I managed to get through four books just last week! Go me! Here are the four I either finished or read in their entirety.

Finished or Read Last Week:

Uprooted-Naomi-Novik   71sbmee3ezl   15783514   23492282

I’m not going to go in to detail about them (that will happen in my wrap up!), but I will say I don’t have many complaints about any of them. They were all exactly what I needed them to be with a few surprises thrown in there.

Book(s) I’ve Started:

the_magiciains_land

I plan on finishing this book somewhere in the mid-week. I’m about 64 pages in just as I put it down a few minutes ago. I really love that I was able to just jump right back in to this world and fully comprehend what’s going on even though it’s been about a year since I finished the last one.

Book(s) for Later in the Week:

17167166   9999107

I really want to get a good jump on the Throne of Glass series. I tend to lose interest if I wait too long between books in a series and keep putting it off, so I don’t want to put much more time between books.

I figured after The Magician’s Land and Crown of Midnight I might need a bit of a break from fantasy. So to mix things up a bit, I’ve chosen American Heiress by Daisy Goodwin.  I don’t talk much about my TV watching habits because this is strictly a book blog, but I’m a HUGE fan of Downton Abbey. Whenever I typed in “books like Downton Abbey” this author’s work came up. So I figured that I would give her a try.

The New Year and Reading: 

This year I set my Goodread’s goal at 100 books. That would average about 8 books a month and 2 a week. I think that’s pretty manageable if I cut my mindless Netflix watching down a bit. I’m lucky that at my job there’s down time late in my shift two nights a week where I generally read if I have nothing else to do (which I usually don’t).

I’m also planning on trying to be more diverse in my book selections. For a history major, I don’t read nearly enough non-fiction history books and I don’t read nearly enough historical fiction. I have plenty on my shelf, I just have been hesitant on picking them up. This is the year I’m going to do it.

I also have limited myself to only buying 2-3 books per month. That’s probably standard for a lot of people, but I will be the first to admit, I have a book buying problem. My shelf is overflowing with paperbacks hidden behind perfect condition hardback. It’s a little embarrassing. So I’ve decided to buy a new bookshelf and separate the books by read and unread. Maybe that will motivate me to stop buying so much and start reading more? Does anyone else have this problem? Comfort me, fellow bookworms.

If you have any recommendations please comment below! Or just say hi. Or tell me if you’ve read any of the books mentioned above.

May you crush your TBR!

~The Grisha Lieutenant

Leave a Reply

