December Wrap-Up | January TBR

I set my sights high this month! 100 books in the year. I set the same goal last year but changed it when I started my first full time job and was a little overwhelmed. But now that I’ve adjusted to it, I think I can do 8 books a month.

I didn’t do too well in December. I think the first book I read got me all slumpy. I hope I do better this month and am going to try to commit to weekly posts.

December Wrap-Up

image

The Witches by Stacy Schiff: 3/5 Stars

I thought I was going to love this book more than I did. As a History major, I usually inhale anything about certain time periods and events that I love. But this one just left me in a slump. The actual accounts of the trails themselves were great, but the before and after were just mediocre at best.

Uprooted-Naomi-Novik

Uprooted by Naomi Novik: 5/5 Stars

This book was beyond words fantastic. The conflict in the story was so fantastically done and wrapped up all in one book that I was left awestruck. I loved the focus on the relationship between two best friends rather than an overbearing romance plot, that really stuck out to me. If you haven’t already, PLEASE read this book.

71sbmee3ezl

East of West Vol. 1: 5/5 Starsย 

This got me out of the slump. A quick graphic novel. A space western with an original take on the mythology of the Four Horsemen. I’m looking forward to reading the next one.

15783514

The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman: 5/5 Stars

Wow. Can anyone top Neil Gaiman in magical realism? I don’t think so. Once again his book captured my imagination and kept me enthralled in the world of this book. It felt sort of like a nightmare that I was experiencing (but in a good way), I can’t call it a dream due to some of it’s darker parts. It was a very quick read that I actually finished today, but started in December, so I’ll just count it as December.

January TBR

23492282

Nowhere But Here by Katie McGarry

I started this one today and really like it so far.

the_magiciains_land

The Magician’s Land by Lev Grossman

I started this series forever ago, it’s time to finally finish it.

23437156

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

Red Queen

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

17234658

A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray

17167166

Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas

splintered-a-g-howard

Splintered by A. G. Howard

9999107

The American Heiress by Daisy Goodwin

Comment if you’ve read any of these or you just want to share an opinion or a recommendation! They’re always welcome.

May you read everything on your TBR.

8 responses to “December Wrap-Up | January TBR

  1. Six of Crows is wonderful, as I’m sure you’ve heard. I just read The Fortune Hunter by Daisy Goodwin! I really liked her writing style but the story was pretty slow. I still enjoyed it though, it was like a nice pretty story I didn’t have to think about or get over-excited. I hope you enjoy American Heiress!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

