Favorite Books of the Year | 2016

I’m not going to put these in any sort of order. That’s just unfair to the books. They have feelings too. I don’t need them ripping the pages out of the other because one got ranked higher than the other. Not happening. Not on my shelf.

I had a good reading year. It wasn’t excellent. But you know what? I hit my 50 books goal and I read some fantastic stories.

Clockwork Princess

The Infernal Devices Trilogy by Cassandra Clare

I was not expecting to love The Infernal Devices more than I love The Mortal Instruments. But I fell in love with Will very quickly after reading the first book in the trilogy. Then I slowly fell in love with Jem. Then I was just lost. But the ending was so perfect that I found myself screaming and crying and cheering.

Uprooted-Naomi-Novik

Uprooted by Naomi Novik 

I just finished this a few days ago and I was floored. Everything in this world was so intricate and magical that I was intrigued the entire time. The conflict in the story was really my favorite part of this. I won’t say what it was, but when it was finally explained, it made it one of my favorite “magical conflicts” that I’ve ever read.

16096824

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas

This was the first book I read by Sarah J Maas and I’m so glad that I picked it up before I picked up Throne of Glass. Not because I didn’t like TOG, but because I felt like this book had more of a fantastical feeling and that’s what I wanted at the time. The world in this book is so immersive and so unique I wanted to live in The Spring Court if only for a short time. I’m so intrigued to learn about the other Courts in the world in the next book.

tumblr_ndftnbIfIc1qjhzvpo1_500

Looking for Alaska by John Green

This was a re-read. I read it in high school before John Green was such a big presence in the book world and I loved it then. I still love it now. All of the feelings and memories that were there when I read it the first time came back to life inside of me. It’s funny, it’s heart breaking and it will stay on my top books of all time list.

Gabaldon_outlander

Outlander by Diana Gabaldon

This book started a lot of things for me. It reawakened my interest in historical fiction, it turned me on to the TV show and it made my heart melt so many times. I’m hoping to continue with Dragonfly in Amber this coming year.

51RYeVqlj9L._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab

This had to make the list considering that Victoria Schwab is my favorite author. But also I have never read a book with such an original mix of Science Fiction and Fantasy.  I loved Kel the moment I started reading about him and wanted to live in his footsteps. I wanted his coat, his powers and his life. Everything.

Sorry that I have been absent from blogging. I’ve been pretty preoccupied in other things. But I suppose this means a goal in 2016 is going to be to blog more.

Comment and let me know if you read any of these and your opinions on them. I also welcome recommendations for 2016!

3 responses to “Favorite Books of the Year | 2016

  1. Pingback: The Creative Blogger Award | Rowan's Raving Reviews

Leave a Reply

