November Wrap-Up

November went by so unbelievably fast! Wasn’t it Halloween yesterday? What the hell is up with this whole “getting old” thing and how do I make it stop?

Anyways! I had a surprisingly good reading month. I completed everything on my November TBR sans one book. That’s pretty good I think!

November Wrap Up 

Fangirl Rainbow

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell: 4/5 Stars

Sadly I didn’t like Fangirl as much as I would have hoped. I really didn’t connect to Cath that much. I think I’m being a bit generous in giving it 4 stars even. But what I did like outweighed the didn’t like. I still enjoyed the writing, the intent the book had was really special in a lot of ways. What I enjoyed most was how well the book described how Fandoms can effect your life in a very big way. That’s what I took away from this book.

Menagerie

Menagerie by Rachel Vincent: 4.5/5 stars

This was my monthly book club’s pick for November (per my suggestion). I really enjoyed this book in a lot of ways. The writing first and foremost was magical, you really got a sense of the main characters situation and how confined/trapped she really felt. It’s originality really stuck out to me and it was a very strong example of Magical Realism.

51ab5fix3ul-_sy344_bo1204203200_

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas: 5/5 stars
November Favorite

I feel like I jumped on this hype train a little bit late. But what matters is that I got here! I’m not even a little bit disappointed in the results. I REALLY loved Celaena for so many reasons. Of course she’s witty, a badass and doesn’t really let anyone tell her what to do. But what really stuck out to me was that she wasn’t a trope. She as an assassin, but she didn’t conform to that normal female assassin mindset of “I’m not like other girls! I don’t like wearing dresses!”. No, she embraced who she was while still being kick ass assassin. Can’t wait for the next one!

Cure for Dreaming

The Cure for Dreaming by Cat Winters: 3.5/5

Kind of like Fangirl, I wanted to like this book a lot more than I did. Unfortunately I found the characters to be very dry and boring. Our main character Olivia is suppose to be a somewhat rebellious girl who wants to join the suffrage movement. But I didn’t find a thing about her interesting.  She was so busy trying to be rebellious that she didn’t even have a personality. She was sort of a blank character. I get that it was somewhat needed for her to be altered throughout the story for the hypnotism plot to work, but it stuck out to me like a thumb.

There are parts that I DID enjoy, even though I typically judge books based on their characters. The setting and the time period were very well written. I really could get a sense of the excitement of the suffrage movement and just the general feeling of oppression that the women felt. I am a history major at University, so a  lot of times historical fiction bothers me for inaccuracy. But this book didn’t really have much. That for me gave it the extra half star to go from 3 to 3.5.

December TBR is coming soon! (I just haven’t fully decided on one yet. Could be tonight, could be tomorrow. Who knows?) 

Comment/like
As always, Happy Reading! 

7 responses to “November Wrap-Up

  1. What a relief to finally run across a reader who wasn’t totally in love with Fangirl. So I’m not totally crazy–or maybe we both are ;), but I didn’t adore it either. The Simon and Baz parts could have been so much better if they alluded to, or represented in some meaningful way, Cath’s realizations about her life and her relationship with her mother, but they just seemed gratuitous. However, I adored Levi.

    Throne of Glass is at the top of my TBR and I can’t wait! I have yet to read a single less than 5-star review of it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

