The Cure for Dreaming | Spoiler-Free Review

Cure for Dreaming

The Cure for Dreaming by Cat Winters: 3.5/5 Stars

I actually had a lot of trouble collecting all of my thoughts on this book. There’s always the side of me that realizes this was endless hours of work for the author. It included tireless research, long nights, the endless editing process, etc. So when I think of something negative I almost hush myself. Does anyone else do that? I found myself doing that a lot while reading this. My decision to give it a 3.5/5 came down to the following factors:

  • Characters
    I found the characters in this book to be very dull. There was never much personality to any of them. They all didn’t have much of a personality that really made them stand out from each other. Most of the characters honestly seemed like cookie-cutter tropes. Most important of all, I did not connect with a single one on a personal level. 
  • Atmosphere
    This was the best part of the book by far. The general feeling of excitement over the women’s suffrage movement in the novel was certainly present. There were times when I was completely enthralled in just the overall feelings I had while reading this that I was really enjoying it.
  • Story Progression
    I would say that the pacing was a little too fast for my liking. The story didn’t stop and give you any background information on the characters and seemed to leave big gaps in time that I found very trivial. As mentioned above, I didn’t feel for any of the characters because their pasts or tales of woe were not told. So without the attachment or even inclination of feeling toward them, the story seemed to drag on. I didn’t really care what was going to happen to any of them.
  • Magical Element
    It was minuscule. I’ve really been on a big Magical Realism kick. When done right, Magical Realism adds that small element of magic to our world that is written in such a way that it’s totally believable that it could happen. In this case with the hypnotism, it didn’t seem logical at all. And trust me, I wanted to believe.

When I really broke it down, this seems more like a series of complaints rather than compliments. I did find more things wrong with it once I was finished with it but I will say that I did enjoy reading it. It was a fun read, but it sort of stopped there. I won’t go running down the streets shouting for people to read this book, but I won’t slam it completely either.

Let me know if you’ve read this book and what your initial thoughts were or if you’ve read her other book. Comment/like ❤

 

Leave a Reply

