Top 5 Wednesdays | Books You’re Thankful For

T5W Family!

Only five books? There’s the challenge.

41fG5TgY0lL

The Vampire Chronicles by Anne Rice

This was a series I read probably when I was too young. Middle school age. It opened my eyes to the darker parts of literature that I now love so much. It opened the doors to my early on obsession with vampires long before Twilight came along. This was when I was weird because I thought vampires were cool. You kids have it good these days!

It can also take credit for my first book love. Lestat de Lioncourt.

Gatsby

The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

This was the first book that I really fell in love with. Before I read Gatsby in high school I thought it was very rare to find a book that I liked. (Outside of Harry Potter and the Vampire  That they were rare finds and I wasn’t a “book person”. After I read Gatsby and understood all the underlying themes without them being taught to me, a whole new world of literature was opened for me.

Clockwork Princess

The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare

This was a very recent read for me. I only finished it this year. But the overwhelming emotions that came out during this series (especially the last book) was so profound that I had to place it in here. I finished Clockwork Princess just after the end of a relationship of two years. It just came at a perfect time to make me feel like love can come more than once.

jane eyre black and white

Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte

Jane Eyre is my favorite book of all time.
Jane Eyre is my favorite woman in literature.
Jane Eyre is my everything.

Jane Eyre is a book that every young woman should read. I read it in high school, not yet sure of the type of person I was. But Jane Eyre helped me to know what kind of person I hoped to grow to be.

And finally……(no surprise)

635687006202292846346585613_harry_potter_septet

Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling

This series was my childhood. Not only that, but it taught me so many things. The characters are so dear to me that they’re like they are my real friends. That they’re not words written across pages.

Most importantly, it was my introduction to fantasy. It was my introduction to books. It came in to the world when I needed it. When I needed some comfort and some escape when I really needed it in my life. I know all of you reading this are with me when I say I don’t know where I’d be in the world without Harry Potter.

❤ Comment/like

Leave a Reply

