October Wrap Up!

Wow, guys. I have been so terrible about making time for my book blog this month. Boys, books, working. How do I make time for all of these things? Someone help me learn how to adult. Please?

Anyways. Here’s my October Wrap Up. I haven’t really decided on my TBR yet. I just need to sit at my bookshelf and do some planning. So, that could also be up tonight or it could be up tomorrow or next week. You never know with me. Anyways, you don’t care about that. You want to see the books.

I read four books in October, which is alright…I guess. But one of them was huge. So you have to give me credit for that. ūüôā

v26n1_offtheshelf_poisoners

The Poisoner’s Handbook¬†by Deborah Blum 3.5/5 stars

This was my monthly book club’s pick for October. I thought it was alright. I really loved all the aspects of historical New York and the case studies. But a lot of the chemistry and science went right over my head. It was nice to have a change in my normal reading habits, but I don’t think I’ll be picking up another one of her books.

Heavenly Fire

City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare 5/5 Stars 

anigif_enhanced-buzz-11433-1426192097-25

I really loved the ending to this book. Everything worked out realistically within the world it’s set in. My main ship within the book ended up together as they should be forever. But really what I loved most about the last book was the tie in with the characters from the¬†Infernal Devices.¬†It gave the ending to the¬†Mortal Instruments¬†just that much sweeter. I can’t really say what my favorite bit of it was, but it gave me even more closure from both series.

21393526

Magonia by Maria Dahvana Headley 4/5 Stars

Wow. Just….WOW.

tumblr_inline_n1p2ifAWuo1stm0ce

The world in this book was so original and interesting. From the world of Magonia to the main character, I really loved this book. I didn’t quite get what I expected while reading this book, but I don’t think that was a bad thing. I didn’t expect this to be so adventurous and didn’t know it had a bit of a pirate plot to it.

I had a bit of a problem with the romance in this book. I can’t exactly say why. But I just didn’t like it. It just felt like the romance in this book was too much of a motivation rather than more important aspects of the plot. I started out really REALLY loving the main character and then I kind of found her to be a little air headed as it went further towards the end.

tumblr_ndftnbIfIc1qjhzvpo1_500

Looking for Alaska by John Green (reread) 5/5 Stars 

I first read this book in high school and when I saw the 10th Anniversary edition and decided it was time for a reread. I remembered this book having a significant impact on me, but I couldn’t remember why. I couldn’t remember specific details or events (other than the main one that happens) or why I loved it. Other than loving John Green already. So I went back in to it with pretty high hopes. I was not disappointed, but I was slapped with the feels once again.

tumblr_noid4yitKL1s2wzrto1_500

Now I certifiably remember why I loved this book and why I found it so significant. Wow. The characters in this book are just so real and so interesting. Each one of them could have their own book and I’m sure it would be fantastic. But oh god….the feels. They are real. I actually read this book in a single sitting at work (it was super slow). I obviously couldn’t start crying at work so I just kind of sat there with the straightest face that I could while exploding on the inside.

But the way this book is structured is unique and really effective. It’s broken in to two parts “before” and “after”. I won’t say what the event that happens is, but let’s just say it’s extremely emotional and heartbreaking. Seeing these characters different reactions to the event were so realistic and so stunningly well written I just wanted to cry along with them. John Green, you are a gifted writer and you deserve all the hype you get. I love you. Never change.

Let me know what you thought of any of these books!

Leave a Reply

