|| Weekly Reading Update ||

Hello everyone! Look, I am sticking to my commitment of weekly updates.

Anyways, this week was actually very productive for me. I finished my book club’s book, as well as started and finished another.

v26n1_offtheshelf_poisoners

I finished The Poisoner’s Handbook by Deborah Blum. This was my book club’s pick of the month. It was an in depth look at the creation of forensic medicine in the criminal justice system. It focused heavily on chemistry, anatomy and case studies. Now, if you read my blog at all, you probably know I’m a history major. I love reading about history in almost any period. Unfortunately, the science outweighed the history in this case. I really loved the actual historical bits about the time period and the case studies, but found myself frequently lost when the more technical scientific bits came in to play. I don’t really feel passionate enough about this read to fully review it. So this paragraph is what you’re getting. Though I do recommend it for anyone who is scientifically literate (unlike me).

And now the big news. Guys….I finally did it. I read the massive book that has haunted my TBR’s for a while now.

Heavenly Fire

I READ IT. 

And I am so glad that I finally did. 5/5 stars. LOVED the ending. LOVED the fact that the two series have finally come together. Full series review to come. Hopefully I’ll type that up sometime tomorrow or later in the week. But mannnnn, I am both relieved and saddened that I’ve completely finished the Mortal Instruments. Now I can talk to all my friends about it finally. A whole new world of book conversations has opened for me on this day.

tumblr_inline_njq1xzWYWC1sb080b

Thanks for reading! Let me know if you’ve read either and your own thoughts on them! Happy reading as always.

Leave a Reply

