The Infernal Devices | A Review (Spoiler Free)

So, as anyone who’s been following my blog knows, I’ve been slowly churning my way through The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices. It has taken me a while, probably longer than most, to get through them. Partly out of fear for the feels and partly because I don’t like reading series straight through. I often get a little bored of them if I don’t at least read a different book between every other book or so. Before I get to the review, I should explain how I have been reading them. I’ve been reading both series in order of publication. It goes as follows:

  1. City of Bones
  2. City of Ashes
  3. City of Glass
  4. Clockwork Angel
  5. City of Fallen Angels
  6. Clockwork Prince
  7. City of Lost Souls
  8. Clockwork Princess
  9. City of Heavenly Fire
  10. The Bane Chronicles

Hopefully that explains why it’s taken me so long to read them all!

Clockwork_Angel_1616NNVHj-hLCP2_cover

The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare : 5/5 Stars

Goodreads: Clockwork Angel (Book 1)

It’s so hard to put in to words how much I loved this trilogy. Having just finished it ten minutes ago, my heart is on fire. I cried, I screamed, I got extremely frustrated and I smiled. All through the course of three amazing books that in combination were an unforgettable literary experience. The books have action, tons of character development and one of the best romance plots that I’ve ever read. I will warn you, there is a love triangle, but it serves a purpose. It’s there for a reason. So do not let that get in the way of picking it up. Especially if you’re a fan of The Mortal Instruments. If you love anything about the Shadowhunter world, you owe it to yourself to read these books.

Now to break down my gushing in to categories or reasons I loved it so much that it got a perfect 5 star rating.

  1. Characters. I have never been so attached to this many characters at once. Even the smaller side characters that usually blend in to the background I grew attached to. But mostly, my most recent book boyfriend Will Harondale. I don’t see how anyone can not fall in love with him. He is everything I look for in a literary hero. He’s brave, he’s smart, he’s dashing and handsome. He loves books, recites poetry and still manages to be the most fierce warrior in the entire book. When I finished Clockwork Princess only ten minutes ago, I wanted to run down the streets declaring my everlasting love for him.
    But there was also my one true love, Magnus Bane who made several appearances. I even loved the main heroine, Tessa Gray. The characters started out as basic tropes in the first book and then evolved so beautifully as the series went on that you couldn’t help but be concerned for them at every turn of a page. There were very few characters that I didn’t care for, and even the ones who weren’t my favorite jerked on my heartstrings. If you’re looking for character development, look no further than these books
  2.  Originality. Never before have I seen a love triangle finish this perfectly. EVER. Usually when a love triangle comes up, I roll my eyes and go “Ohhhhh great.”. But not this time. This time Cassandra Clare has proven herself Queen of the literary love game. I was so engrossed in the way that Tessa handled everything with two men in love with her that I found myself impressed. Usually we find a girl torn between two guys AND keep a level head.
    Not only was there originality in the romance, but in the plot itself. It progressed so steadily and at such an appropriate pace that there wasn’t a single dull moment. And it took my by surprise quite a few times. I literally had no idea what was going to happen at certain parts of the book that I read faster because I HAD TO KNOW.
    The villain himself was also amazingly original. Not only his “origin story” but how he conducted his wicked schemes. He wasn’t an easy to fool villain who existed for the reason of conflict. He was so well described that you even felt slightly bad for him at times, but not enough to like him, just enough to be mildly concerned about how well he’s going to fare.
  3. The Feels. They were there and they were real. SO real. EXTREMELY unexpected. But I was literally crying at the end of it and I’m not sure why. Was I happy? Was I sad? Was I just feeling too many things at once and I couldn’t realistically deal? Probably. I obviously cannot tell you why I had these reactions, but I can tell you that I did.
    anigif_enhanced-buzz-11433-1426192097-25

I can’t physically go to each of your houses and shove this book in to your hands, so you’re just going to have to take my word on it. READ THESE BOOKS. GO GET THEM. NOW.

This should be you. Going to the bookstore.

anigif_enhanced-mid-14190-1427408726-6

Leave a Reply

