Top 5 Wednesdays | Top 5 Fictional Cities

Top 5 Wednesday Family! This weekly tag was created by Gingerreadslainey!

5. Wonderland

Who wouldn’t want to live in Wonderland? Or at least poke around a little bit! Wandering through a mushroom forest or having tea with the Mad Hatter? Even having a visit at the Red Queen’s court. Of course you would! And imagine living there. You would have to be a pretty colorful character to fit in to Lewis Carroll’s world.

Alice sparkles

And really, who doesn’t love Lewis Carroll’s books? I’m pretty sure that every child once envisioned themselves stalking through the land at one point or another? For me it’s mostly my five year old self wanting it, but a small part of the adult me now still would love to.

Idris

4. Idris from The Mortal Instruments Series  

The lovely City of Glass. The third book in The Mortal Instruments series takes place almost exclusively in Idris. It’s the home of many of the Shadowhunters in the series, or at least was at one time. Most notably, The Lightwood’s Manor. It’s described as a shining city that is home to Shadowhunters, the Counsol, and where Clary learns all about where she came from and who she is.
Jace being cute

And you know, you could run in to Jace there. So that’s a pretty big bonus. Come on guys.

3. Red London from A Darker Shade of Magic 

51RYeVqlj9L._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

I couldn’t really find any pictures that were a good example of how I pictured Red London in my mind, so I just gave up on that one. But I sort of envisioned it to be this large “gypsy” market town with a large castle towering over everything. Whenever it was described I always just wanted to be there. The examples of people on the streets doing magic and entertainment, the peddlers and even the royalty.

And certainly Red London was much more exciting than Grey or White London. White London just seemed really scary and Grey just incredibly boring.

2. Diagon Alley from The Harry Potter Series 

Diagon Alley

I saw that a lot of people picked Hogsmede, and I agree that would be a great place to live! But realistically I would rather live in Diagon Alley. Here’s why, just bear with me. If you lived in Hogsmede I assume you would no longer be a Hogwart’s student, so it would probably be a lot less exciting if you actually lived there. Not only that, it would be crawling with students every single weekend! If you’ve graduated, the last thing you want to see are a bunch of third years and up all the time. But in Diagon Alley, you only see a large number of students once a year. Besides, you could be closer to the Weasley Twin’s shop!

It was really hard for me to decide between the last two. I debated on it pretty hard. So, finally. Here’s #1. Spring Court

The Spring Court from A Court of Thorns and Roses 

Everything about this place seemed magical and beautiful. Especially within the walls of Lucien’s Court. The gardens that were described were the main place that made me want to jump in to the book. But almost everywhere in the Faerie lands were so beautifully described that I felt like I was there while reading the book.

I’m pretty sure if it had been described better I would have put The Night Court. Because that’s where Rhys is from and Rhys is my favorite character. But sadly I’m going to have to wait for the rest of the books to come out.
tumblr_inline_mgxl71OjAc1qg8h61

Thanks for reading! Comment and like! ❤

2 responses to “Top 5 Wednesdays | Top 5 Fictional Cities

Leave a Reply

