Top 5 Wednesdays: Top 5 Character Tropes!

Top 5 Wednesday Family!

I love this topic! I’ve been waiting all month for it. But now that it’s here, I actually had trouble coming up with five character tropes. Shame on me. But here were my choices!

5. “Strong willed Victorian lady who happens to kick some serious ass” 

Examples:

Libbabraybeauty815D5sneiNL._SL1500_CP2_cover

I really love the Victorian Era. It’s probably my favorite era next to Revolutionary France (I wish that was popular enough to be a trope!). Gemma Doyle, Celia and Tessa Gray are just a few examples of them. There’s always some hidden magic in them or their stories mixed with the culture and atmosphere of the Victorian Era. Something about women of fine breeding pushing aside the prim and proper for the more exciting dark and dangerous. It’s fantastic. I love it.

4. The “Side Character who’s more likable than the main character”  

COLS_coverHarry_potter_HBP_Scholastic_editionRuin and Rising

This is a very common trope, but one that I adore! Examples from above are Magnus Bane, Fred and George Weasley and Nickoli. I always looked forward to their small bits and appearances in the story. It’s not that I don’t like the main characters, it’s that I don’t care about them as much as these side characters. Especailly Magnus Bane. Because he’s my favorite.

3. The “Brooding Angry Handsome Male Lead”

Clockwork_Angel_116096824Ruin and Rising

Okay, as a female I object to men being like this in real life. If a guy is like this in real life, you should probably steer clear of him. But this is FICTION. We love to think that we can change the indifferent moody guy in to a sensitive guy who worships the ground we walk on. Examples: Will Harondale, Tamlin, The Darkling. From the second he brushes the main female off we’re like, “AH HAH. There’s the male lead” and we totally ship it until it hurts.

2. The “Girl who knows books better than she knows people”. 

ootp-us-jacket-artClockwork Princess51Omgf4bBkL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

I especially love this one, because I totally feel like I am one of these. The ladies who don’t understand jokes and don’t know how to talk to people very well. Hermionie, Tessa and Alice. They are the best characters for me, because they don’t have a need to talk unnecessarily. They say what they mean in a literal sense and that’s the end of it. Their actions often speak volumes louder than their words and they’re never afraid to step up, especially if they’ve read about the situation they are in in a book.

1. The “Lady thief, assassin, pirate, warrior”

51RYeVqlj9L._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_Throne of Glass series16096824

Women who are in the rolls traditionally reserved for men. Those are the best female characters. It sounds a little repetitive, I know, but seriously they’re amazing. Examples: Lila, Celina and Feyre. Two Sarah J Maas books, coincidence? I think not. It’s always fun to see the female be the leading badass in the story, admit it.

Hope you like my picks for this topic! Comment and like! Thank you! ❤

3 responses to “Top 5 Wednesdays: Top 5 Character Tropes!

  1. Excellent post. I especially agree with the part about books set in the French Revolution – I would totally read that. And also about book smart/people not so smart characters like Hermione.

    Like

  2. I too love when women are in the roles that men typically have. While I’m getting tired of the “kickass female character who takes no crap from boys” trope, I like it when it throws in the twist of holding a typically male’s position of power.

    Like

Leave a Reply

