Disney Book Tag!

1. The Little Mermaid: Name a character that is out of place or is “a fish out of water”.

grisha-trilogy-covers

The first character that comes to mind is Alina from the Grisha Trilogy. I may be a little bias,  based on my blog name, but seriously. If you discovered you were a person with such a rare magical ability that hasn’t been seen in years, you would feel out of place too. Then she’s thrown straight in to the world of the Grisha and The Darkling. Talk about a fish out of water, one day you’re a mapmaker and the next you have a rare magical power.

2. Cinderella: Name a character that goes through a major transformation. 

Untitled-2

I would have to go with Elisa from The Girl of Fire and Thorns trilogy. In the first book we see her very passive and shy. She’s not confident in herself and she’s very naive and timid. By the end of the third book she’s a completely different person. She’s strong, she’s tough and she knows exactly who she is. I didn’t particularly love this trilogy, but it was really cool to see a character develop that much over a span of three books.

3. Snow White: Name a book with an eclectic cast of characters.

Heavenly Fire

I chose of course, The Mortal Instruments. Not only are there all sorts of different paranormal beings, but the characters are all unique in their own right. There are some tropes in there, but there’s also so many original characters like Magnus Bane (*swoon*) and Isabelle Lightwood. And they all play different and vital roles in the story line.

4. Sleeping Beauty: A book that put you to sleep. 

9766078

I read this book for my bookclub and it started out really strong. I loved the first part of the book. The story was interesting and thrilling, but then it got to the second part, which was a lot less thrilling and a lot more boring. Then in the third part I was falling asleep. I literally could not push myself through this book. I was just so bored of the story by then that I couldn’t force myself to the end, which is actually really rare for me.

5. The Lion King: Name a character that had something traumatic happen to them in childhood: 

jane eyre black and white

I realized that I had not once mentioned my favorite book on my blog and this is the perfect category for it. I won’t give too much away because, trust me, you’ll want to experience this book for yourself. But Jane has a very rough childhood and moves around a lot from place to place. Everything is against her in her childhood and she has to overcome a lot to become the woman she becomes.

6. Beauty and the Beast: Name a “beast” of a book that you were intimidated at first, but found beautiful at the end. 

Gabaldon_outlander

I’ll have to go with Outlander. Some of you may be thinking “it’s not that big”, but I have the tall versions of the books. The ones that are in fact very tall and very thick with tiny little print. Going in to it I thought that I would like it and then by the end of it, I was in love.

7. Aladdin: Name a character that gets their wish granted for better or for worse: 

51Omgf4bBkL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

I went with Quentin from The Magicians. I can’t tell you exactly what his wish is or how it comes true. But let’s just say that the entire book there’s only one wish or thing on his mind. At the end his wish comes true, but it’s definitely not for the better.

8. Mulan: A character that pretends to be something or someone that they’re not. 

51RYeVqlj9L._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

For this category, I chose Lila from A Darker Shade of Magic. She wasn’t my favorite character in the book, but she certainly was unique. She pretends to be a man in the very beginning of the book. She’s an expert thief who disguises herself as a man and is Wanted, but as a man. Very Mulan like.

9. Toy Story: Name a book where you wish the characters would literally come to life. 

ootp-us-jacket-art

Obligatory Harry Potter mention! Of course I wish the characters from Harry Potter were real. I think about them so often that for me, they basically are. I would absolutely adore being best friends with Hermionie! She’s pretty much my favorite female from any fantasy series! If she could you know, teach me magic and stuff, that would be cool too.

10. Disney Decedents: Name your favorite villain or morally ambiguous character: 

16096824

I of course have to go with Rhys from A Court of Thorns and Roses. We don’t know much about him yet, other than he is in fact morally ambiguous. He’s manipulative and he’s playing Feyre like a piano, but you know what, I like him. In the epic clash of teams, I’m on team Rhys. From the moment he showed up in the middle of the book, I was all about Rhys.

Hope you enjoyed it! And if you’re reading this, consider yourself tagged! Comments are always appreciated!

Leave a Reply

