Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson: Review

7664334

Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson

My rating: 2/5 stars
Genera: Young Adult Contemporary
Age Appropriate for 13+ 

I had been hearing about Morgan Matson’s books over and over again on Booktube until I was sick of hearing the hype without at least taking a peak in to what everyone was talking about. It seemed like every Booktuber that I frequently watch has mentioned Morgan Matson at least once and there’s even a “Summer of Matson” readathon going on over the summer. So I decided to read one of her books and then join the “Summer of Matson” readathon if I liked it. Unfortunately, I didn’t like it. And I really hate slamming books. But I seriously had some problems with this one.

tumblr_nmwxs0OsLX1rgvfxho2_500

Starting out, it seemed okay. Like the plot was going to progress a lot further as it went on and it would get more exciting as the roadtrip actually started to happen. We meet Amy, who like me has lost a parent, loves to read and is obsessed with musical theater. I thought that I would maybe relate to her on a personal level. But then things just kind of started to unravel and fall apart for me as it continued to go on. When Roger comes in to the picture, I thought maybe I’ll connect with him? Wrong again. My problem with them as main characters was that they weren’t all that interesting and they didn’t really seem like “real people”. They were just tropes of “girl who lost a parent and blames herself” and “boy who is pining over a girl who dumped him”. They didn’t have a personality, they were JUST TROPES. I was very aware that these were made up characters in a book. I didn’t “escape” while reading this at all, I just found myself wanting to finish it so I could move on to the next book.

So as they go along on the roadtrip, they make all sorts of detours to random places that are completely out of the way before arriving at their destination across the country. I won’t tell you where they stop in case you want to read this one day, but it’s suffice to say they’re pretty random. The entire time Amy’s just kind of there making vague comments and Roger’s getting stars in his eyes about a girl with no personality at all. They both revisit some painful things and help each other through along the way. But I found myself not believing a lot of this. It seemed a little too far fetched that two teenagers would actually do this. When it got to the end I was overjoyed because it meant that I didn’t have to read anymore of this book. That I could put it down and forget about it.

Sorry if you really love Morgan Matson or this book. I just didn’t enjoy it all that much. 😦

Comment below!

One response to “Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson: Review

Leave a Reply

