3 Days, 3 Quotes: Day 2

I’m late on this, as I always am with cool new blog tags. But to make up for it, I’ll post two today and one tomorrow!

The Rules:

1. Thank the person who nominated you.
2. Post a quote for 3 consecutive days (1 quote for each day).
3. Nominate three new bloggers each day.

Thank you to Kaciesbookshelf for tagging me!

tumblr_inline_noooo8Sbwh1rb5oog_500

1. The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald 

6eb5921167066751c039e462ebdf3bed

This is one of my favorite books of all time and I think the opening line is so powerful. It really speaks to me on a personal level, not only because I’ve faced criticism myself, but I try really hard to never criticize other people. They may not have had a happy childhood or a loving relationship with their family. They may have been born differently, they may learn things differently and at a different pace. I think it’s a great quote to keep in your mind at all times.

2. The Magicians by Lev Grossman

grid-cell-21209-1431908521-23

I haven’t finished the Magician series yet, but I’m getting ready to read the third book so that I can add another check mark to my “finished series” list.

But I think this quote speaks a lot about reality and being realistic about things like personal goals and growing older. When you’re a teenager and you’re planning for your college career and your future you think “I want to be a _____.” and that you’ll go through college within four years and then instantly get a job. And let me tell you as a 25 year old who’s changed their major three times, I can tell you, it’s not that simple. I have about a year left on my history degree, then there’s grad school and getting my doctorate if I ever plan on a career as a historian. And every day I have to work towards it. I also have always struggled with body image issues and only now am I realizing to myself that if I don’t start working at it now, it will “never be so”.

It’s not the most inspirational of quotes, but it’s certainly realistic.

I’m being lame and tagging anyone and everyone who’s read this post! I’ve only really been tagged once ever in a post (Thanks again Kaci). So, tag me so that I can start tagging you in things!

tumblr_noqcrh3reC1s75u1lo4_r1_250

Let me know some of your favorite quotes in the comments!

Leave a Reply

