(Late) Top 10 Tuesdays: Top 10 Books Read This Year!

Top 10 Tuesdays

Hey guys! Sorry for the late posts. I just started my new full time job and have been exhausted after all the training hours. But I’m going to make up for it by posting a lot the next few days! Anyways. On with the Top Ten.

10. City of Glass by Cassandra Clare

200px-city_of_glass_53494190e087c340f0d90899

I really liked City of Glass it really got me back in to the world of the Shadowhunters that I had fallen out of. It was more exciting and really made me want to keep going in the Mortal Instruments series. It made me care about the characters again (especially Magnus) and really want to invest more time in to the series.

9. The Handmaid’s Tale by Margret Atwood 

atwood1

I had never read a Margaret Atwood book before and I suggested this myself to my book club. It was sort of confusing and slow at first. I wasn’t really sure what was going on, but once it progressed more in to the society and the story I got really in to it and read the last two hundred pages in one sitting. It really did make me think a lot about our society and the way women are treated.

8. The Wicked + The Divine: Volume One 

TheWickedAndDivine_vol1-1

I literally just finished this graphic novel. I had heard it mentioned over and over again on booktube, then saw it at my favorite independent bookstore and took it as a sign that I needed to read it. The idea of Gods coming back every ninety years in the form of pop stars was so intriguing to me and the art was just so beautiful. I can’t wait to read the rest of the installments.

7. Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare

Clockwork_Angel_1

I read Clockwork Angel right after I finished City of Glass and let me tell you I wasn’t disappointed. Everyone had told me that the Infernal Devices was a lot better than The Mortal Instruments. And they weren’t wrong. My best friend raved about Jem being this amazing character, but really, I think Will Harondale is my true book love in this series. I find Tessa as a main character a lot more appealing than Clary. She’s just a lot smarter and less of a damsel in distress.

6. City of Lost Souls by Cassandra Clare

COLS_cover

This book was a lot like City of Glass for me. It made me yearn to know what was going to happen in the next installment. I wanted to throw the book when I finished it! My Mortal Instruments OTP broke up. And that is not okay. NOT OKAY.

5. A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness 

MonsterCalls

This book hit me so hard when I wasn’t even expecting it. The main character is dealing with his mother dying of cancer. He does really irrational things, hurts everyone around him and at the same time is dealing with this monster who visits him every night. I also lost my mother to cancer at a pretty young age and I found myself thinking of those years and the grief that I went through when I knew she was dying. It expresses grief in a very real way.

4. Outlander by Diana Gabaldon 

Gabaldon_outlander

Everyone was talking about the TV adaptation while it was on it’s mid-season break. I wanted to join in on the hype and watch the show, but I couldn’t do that without reading the book. I admit, I don’t read a lot of adult books, especially romance. But I really loved Diana Gabaldon’s writing and could very easily picture everything that was happening. It also introduced me to the one villain that made me bump Umbridge down from my “most hated” list. Blackjack Randall takes the cake as the most infuriating villain of all time.

3. A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab 

51RYeVqlj9L._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

Victoria Schwab (“V.E. Schwab”) is tied for the spot of my favorite author with Neil Gaiman. I have never read a bad book by her and I don’t know if it’s possible for her to write a bad book. The world she created with the alternate London’s was just so vivid and beautiful that I purposefully took forever to read it so it wouldn’t end. Kel was such a fantastic character that I wanted to know everything that I could about him, I cannot wait until the next installment!

3. Clockwork Prince by Cassandra Clare

616NNVHj-hL

I was amazed when this book didn’t suffer from “second book syndrome”. In fact, it was better than the first. We learn so much more about the characters. Not to mention the repeated appearance of Magnus Bane! It sort of did serve as filler. But it was enjoyable filler. We learned what we needed to about the characters in order to progress in the storyline, along with some interesting twists near the end. I cannot wait to read Clockwork Princess.

1. A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas

16096824

This was my first Sarah J Maas book and I’m sort of glad that it was. I tend to enjoy first person perspective more than third, like Throne of Glass is written in. There’s a lot of hype surrounding this book and it’s well deserved. The story felt original and the characters were so well written that I literally couldn’t choose a favorite until the very end. Sarah J Maas really is the queen of love triangles which are a guilty pleasure of mine. The world was also endlessly fascinating. The creatures, the fantasy world element and everything just blended together beautifully. I was so happy I read this right away.

Leave a Reply

