Top 5 Wednesday: Books you read in one sitting (or close to)

Complete List of Top 5 Wednesday Participants

It’s pretty rare that I actually read a book in one sitting. I really like to take my time reading and digest every little detail and aspect of a story in appreciation of the writer. But sometimes I can’t help myself and just have to know what’s going to happen.

The_Last_Olympian_cover

5. Percy Jackson: The Last Olympian by Rick Riordan: I remember sitting on my bed at like 9 o’clock at night completely committed to finishing this book in one night. I needed to know how the series was going to wrap up. This was before the Heroes of Olympus came out and I thought it would be the end of the series. I wasn’t disappointed. I thought the series wrapped up beautifully.

51X-zyaZMRL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

4. Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Paige: I suggested this book when it first came out a year ago to my book club because I was so excited to read it. I flew right through it in one long sitting and then one very short one (on my lunch break when I started it. Then I finished it when I got home.). I was so enthralled in the world that I could not put it down. I haven’t started the sequel yet, but it’s on my shelf and I just need to pick it up.

MonsterCalls

3. A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness: I know what you’re thinking. “Of course you read it in one sitting, it’s short and a picture book!”. That’s true and you can call me a cheater, I’m okay with that. I loved this book and the story hit really close to home with me. I lost my mother to cancer when I was only nineteen, so the ending hit me pretty hard. It’s a story i’ll never forget.

Ruin and Rising

2. Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo: The ending book to my beloved Grisha Trilogy. I sped through this book (probably a bit too fast) because I wanted to see what would happen with The Darkling. I loveeeed The Darkling and I had to see how everything would end with him and Alina. I was really sad about how it ended but also realistic about it. There wasn’t another way it could really work out. But that doesn’t mean I can’t be sad about it.

The Archived

1. The Archived by Victoria Schwab: Victoria Schwab is arguably my favorite author. I’ve loved every single book that she’s ever written. Though I have yet to pick up The Unbound I’m really looking forward to it when I eventually do read it. I enjoyed every second of The Archived. The characters, the world building, the story. Just the idea of the dead or impressions of the dead being cataloged in a sort of library is the coolest thing I’ve ever heard in my life.

If you’ve read any of these and agree or disagree. Leave a comment below!

One response to “Top 5 Wednesday: Books you read in one sitting (or close to)

Leave a Reply

